Red Gate forums :: View topic - Can't see methods and lines in the Detailed mode
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 5
ANTS Performance Profiler 5 forum

Can't see methods and lines in the Detailed mode

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 5 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
rgelb



Joined: 25 Sep 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:43 am    Post subject: Can't see methods and lines in the Detailed mode Reply with quote

I am using Ants Profiler 4.3 on a .NET 2.0 WinForms app being written in VS2008.

I start the profiling session, get it to a point where I need to. Then I click around my app, go back to Ants Profiler, select a chunk of time, and look at results.

If start the profiling session with a Profiling Mode = "Method Level Timings; only methods with source", I can see the timings for all methods that are in my app.

If start the profiling session with a Profiling Mode = "Line Level and method Level Timings; all methods (most detail)", I can't see any of the methods that are actually hit in the chunk of time that was selected.

Why? What am I missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 591

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you try either a trial of the latest released version (5.2) or the latest early acces version (v6) and see if you get different results?

You can find these by just googling ANTS download.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rgelb



Joined: 25 Sep 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Chris.Allen wrote:
Can you try either a trial of the latest released version (5.2) or the latest early acces version (v6) and see if you get different results?

You can find these by just googling ANTS download.


I'd rather get the version I have working. My employer doesn't want to buy the upgrade, so I am stuck with the version I have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StephenC



Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can still install a new major version along side your version 4 to test if the latest releases fix the problem/bug and let us know.

Thanks,

Stephen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rgelb



Joined: 25 Sep 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

StephenC wrote:
You can still install a new major version along side your version 4 to test if the latest releases fix the problem/bug and let us know.


Yes, I did that and in version 5.x, the line numbers are profiled as expected. Thank you.

So where do we go from here as far as v4.x is concerned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group