Red Gate forums :: View topic - Updated from 3.x to 4 - insufficient credentials error now
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 4
SQL Monitor 4 forum

Updated from 3.x to 4 - insufficient credentials error now

Search in SQL Monitor 4 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
joshuawferguson



Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Location: Lafayette, LA

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:36 pm    Post subject: Updated from 3.x to 4 - insufficient credentials error now Reply with quote

Since updating to SQL Monitor 4 I'm having trouble getting monitoring working again. As far as I can tell using Redgate's official documentation, I have the SQL account permissions set correctly, yet the log shows this:

Quote:
The INSERT permission was denied on the object 'redgate_sqlmonitor_topqueries_b_lftcadsrv.(local)_redgate-sql', database 'tempdb', schema 'dbo'.


I added db_datareader and db_datawriter permissions to the account, and monitoring resumed fine. Is there something I'm missing that may have caused this error? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I've never seen SQL Monitor 3.x try to write to tempdb, so it must be part of the new performance analysis in v4. Most users would have the ability to write to tempdb as it's used implicitly by SQL Server as storage space for joins and other things. Thanks for pointing that out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshuawferguson



Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Location: Lafayette, LA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply - are these permissions (db_datareader/writer) going to be reflected in the official documentation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've requested that this is included in future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joshuawferguson



Joined: 11 Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Location: Lafayette, LA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:48 pm    Post subject: Permanent table in tempdb?? Reply with quote

I know this is a bit after the fact, but I found (on another server) that if sqlmonitor's login doesn't have ddl_admin rights on tempdb, it also fails. By default (without this ddl_admin right) the login should be capable of creating temporary tables (with the # prefix) in tempdb. Why is sqlmonitor trying to create permanent tables in tempdb? Seems very counter intuitive. . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thtwill



Joined: 19 Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Manchester, NH US

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this topic, it helped me too. I encountered this same issue on a fresh install of version 4.
I agree, this was not mentioned in the official documentation page (http://documentation.red-gate.com/display/SM4/Requirements) at time of this post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheLonelyDBA



Joined: 30 Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the same happens on the hosted beta of SQL Monitor: it tries to create "permanent" tables in TempDB.
_________________
Tips and thoughts on MS SQL, Oracle and MongoDB:
http://thelonelydba.wordpress.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group