Red Gate forums :: View topic - No Intellisense after temporary mistake
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 6
SQL Prompt 6 forum

No Intellisense after temporary mistake

Search in SQL Prompt 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:54 pm    Post subject: No Intellisense after temporary mistake Reply with quote

Another report. I keep them coming if you don't mind

====
DROP TABLE Temp
CREATE TABLE Temp (col1 INT)

SELECT
*
FROM
Temp t
WHERE
1 = 1
AND t. -- *
AND t.col1 = 6
AND t. -- no intellisense
====


The reason is the error in the line marked with *

That's understandable and now that I use prompt a few weeks I know how to correct it. But that's after a few weeks. Of course I thought (without good reason!) prompt was malfunctioning.

It's arguable that prompt can be made more robust against these errors because they come in many forms and are make up the most part (80-90%) of cases where I expect prompt to give it suggestions but doesn't.

I leave it to you of course if you think this should be in scope. I think a competitor highlights syntax errors in real time which can help the user to correct his statement before executing.
If I format the sql with prompt the red scribbles also show where the syntax error is. So prompt has the capability but does not show it real time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 192
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this is a common enough use case that we want to fix it, and it looks like a single fix could resolve all 3 of your posts.

For the error highlighting, interestingly enough it looks like there's a option for it by changing MarkSyntaxErrors to true in "%localappdata%/Red Gate/SQL Prompt 6/RedGate_SQLPrompt_CommonUI_Options_UIOptions.xml". I guess we never got the feature to a state where we were happy enough with it to expose it through the UI, but you can give it a go if you'd like?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news you think fix will take care of all. Let me know if you need a tester
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm currently developing with the feature enabled. First impression is that its helpful and working as expected. I'm curious if its scales and keeps on behaving. I'll report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed with build 6.3.0.235. Thanks Aaron!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The last month or so I have been using prompt with the "show errors" feature enabled.

It helps in quit a few situations and it performed well.
Observing the part that was highlighted helped me to see a problem before executing the query( like resharper if you use Visual Studio) and thats a real productivity boost. It also made me see why prompt could not provide suggestions with intellisense giving the user a clue as to why the tool behaves a certain way.

A quick win to make it more attractive / less intrusive : only put red squiggles on non whitespace characters. If you have big sql statement it sometimes takes the whole screen with the squiggles.

Example image http://postimg.org/image/ma915t5cx/


Last edited by buckley on Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 192
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the feedback Smile I agree that the whitespace being highlighted isn't particularly helpful and looks pretty ugly. I'll have a look into seeing if we can restrict the squiggles to non-whitespace characters (or at least trim the start/end of each line)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group