Red Gate forums :: View topic - No intellisense when using a view multiple times + repro
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 6
SQL Prompt 6 forum

No intellisense when using a view multiple times + repro

Search in SQL Prompt 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:04 pm    Post subject: No intellisense when using a view multiple times + repro Reply with quote

We have pinpointed a problem with the latest version (6.2.0.241) and took the time to come up with an isolated repro

-- problem seems to occur only with views
-- problem occurs when you refer to a view in a following query
-- problem is at with the second select
-- the script is self contained / isolated except for the table "Client" which has to be replace with another table


IF OBJECT_ID('NoIntellisense') IS NOT NULL
DROP VIEW NoIntellisense
GO
CREATE VIEW NoIntellisense
AS
SELECT CLD01_STAANN
FROM Client c
GO
IF OBJECT_ID('NoIntellisense2') IS NOT NULL
DROP VIEW NoIntellisense2
GO
CREATE VIEW NoIntellisense2
AS
SELECT CLD01_STAANN
FROM Client c
GO


-- ************************* Example with views
SELECT *
FROM NoIntellisense ni
WHERE ni.CLD01_STAANN = ''
-- Works fine

SELECT *
FROM NoIntellisense ni2
WHERE ni2.CLD01_STAANN = ''
-- No Intellisense when you type: "ni2."


SELECT *
FROM NoIntellisense2 ni2
WHERE ni2.CLD01_STAANN = ''
-- works fine

-- ************************* Example with tables
SELECT *
FROM Client c
WHERE c.CLD01_STAANN = ''
-- Works fine


SELECT *
FROM Client c
WHERE c.CLD01_STAANN = '' -- Works fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 249
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Buckley,
I can recreate this locally and will look into a fix for you. Thank you for the awesome repro steps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 249
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I've got a fix for you in this build If you'd like to give it a try, and i'll make sure this gets included in the next Prompt release.

Thanks,
Aaron.

Edit: Link removed - changes are in latest stable build


Last edited by Aaron Law on Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Aaron. That's awesome too. I'll check tomorrow morning at work and give prompt feedback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
giangbnguyen



Joined: 07 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:18 pm    Post subject: No intellisense when using a view multiple times + repro Reply with quote

HI! I was wondering the if OP had this issue resolved?

I just installed the latest SQL Prompt update (v. 6.2.0.366) and my SQL Prompt suggestion box is empty.

I have tried to refresh the suggestion (CTRL+SHIFT+D) with no luck in resolving the empty suggestion box. I also tried changing the ParserLooK "back" and "ahead" distance value in the EngineOption XML with no luck either.

I tried the link from a previous post but the install stops because I have the latest version already.

I am having to resort back to SSMS intellisense in order to get "prompts" with my query objects. I am writing queries against a 2008R2 box with multiple Table value functions being joined together.

Any suggestions on a work around to get the "prompts" back?

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron Law



Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 249
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi giangbnguyen,

The original issue should be fixed in the latest stable build of Prompt which you've got so I assume you're seeing something else. You could try this private build (6.3.0.235) which has had a few more improvements that might help.

If that build also doesn't work, would it be possible to provide a script where you're not getting suggestions?

Thanks,
Aaron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
giangbnguyen



Joined: 07 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:11 pm    Post subject: No intellisense when using a view multiple times + repro Reply with quote

Aaron, thank you for the prompt reply.

I was able to download the specific version you mentioned and that did indeed resolve my problem.

Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckley



Joined: 26 Jan 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2014 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great to here that!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group