Red Gate forums :: View topic - Any Way to Configure Include and Exclude DBs. ...
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Backup 7
SQL Backup 7 forum

Any Way to Configure Include and Exclude DBs. ...

Search in SQL Backup 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
sergioza



Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:14 pm    Post subject: Any Way to Configure Include and Exclude DBs. ... Reply with quote

Hi,

I may be missing something, but is there an option when creating "Scheduled Backup Job" to Configure RedGate Backup to Automatically Include New Dbs
to be backed up and exclude the ones which were deleted on the Server?

Many Thanx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could use the All or USER option to to backup all or all user databases.
Unfortunately these options are not available from the UI as the UI will script out all the database names.
You will have to manually edit the job step in SQL Server Agent.

http://documentation.red-gate.com/display/SBU7/The+BACKUP+command#TheBACKUPcommand-BACKUPDATABASESargument
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sergioza



Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:48 pm    Post subject: Automatically pickup active Databases for pick up... Reply with quote

The idea behind using "RedGate" was to automate backups as much as possible.

so, GUI doesn't allow to specify all and script will get regenerated?


it means that i need to go to GUI daily on each Server and check "All"?

or instead of

EXECUTE master..sqlbackup '-SQL "BACKUP DATABASES [master,model,...

I can somehow specify all?

if not, is this option in new release?

Thank You

S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the GUI when you check the ALL check box it will script out all the names of the databases.

EXECUTE master..sqlbackup '-SQL "BACKUP DATABASES [master,model,msdb,db1,db2......

You can edit the job so that it uses the ALL argument or * wildcard.

EXECUTE master..sqlbackup '-SQL "BACKUP ALL DATABASES

or

EXECUTE master..sqlbackup '-SQL "BACKUP DATABASES [*]

There are no plans to change this behavior in new or future releases
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group