Red Gate forums :: View topic - Migrating to a new workstation
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 3
SQL Source Control 3 forum

Migrating to a new workstation

Search in SQL Source Control 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
fcheung



Joined: 30 Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:51 pm    Post subject: Migrating to a new workstation Reply with quote

I am migrating from a Win7 computer to a Win8 computer.

How do i migrate all the database i've linked from the old computer?

I can relink everything but i've about 30 databases, just trying to avoid the hassle.

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
andy.campbell.smith



Joined: 20 Oct 2011
Posts: 159
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Mon Sep 02, 2013 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you copy the file %localappdata%\Red Gate\SQL Source Control 3\LinkedDatabases.xml to the same location on your new PC, that ought to copy across all the linked database information. This isn't strictly supported behaviour, so let me know if anything goes squiffy, but it ought to work!
_________________
Andy Campbell Smith

Red Gate Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcheung



Joined: 30 Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried that already but when i clicked on a linked DB in management studio, it generates an error

C:\Users\xxxx\AppData\Local\Red Gate\SQL Source Control 3\WorkingBases\5xgl0qlm.3t2.

I also tried to copy everything under AppData\Local\Red Gate\SQL Source Control 3 to the new server, got the same error

Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
andy.campbell.smith



Joined: 20 Oct 2011
Posts: 159
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which source control system are you using?
_________________
Andy Campbell Smith

Red Gate Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcheung



Joined: 30 Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Location: United States

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using TFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group