Red Gate forums :: View topic - SQL 2012 - Compatible??
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Packager 6
SQL Packager 6 forum

SQL 2012 - Compatible??

Search in SQL Packager 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
smcleod



Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:40 pm    Post subject: SQL 2012 - Compatible?? Reply with quote

I am trying to package a database running in SQL Server 2012, and I get the error "ExecuteReader: CommandText property has not been initialized"... what could the problem be, or is SQL Packager not compatible with SQL Server 2012?? Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colinbo



Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hit the same issue packaging any database residing on a SQL 2012 instance. I turned on verbose logging but it doesn't give much in the way of hints:

Code:
16:20:19.495|Info   |Logging             |1  |Current Logging levels enabled: Verbose,Warning,Fatal,Debug,Information,Trace,Error
16:20:28.292|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Register live database start: FOO
16:20:28.292|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate Live Start, popoptions: #rJg, #wJg
16:20:28.292|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate Live Start, options: DoNotOutputCommentHeader, IgnoreUsers, Default
16:20:28.308|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate major version: SqlServer2008
16:20:28.308|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate got casing: False
16:20:28.308|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate Case Sensitive: False
16:20:28.323|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate FulltextCatalogs start.
16:20:28.323|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate Fulltext Stoplists start.
16:20:28.323|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate Fulltext Stopwords start.
16:20:28.323|Info   |SQL Compare Engine  |6  |Populate ObjectNames start.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carltierney



Joined: 17 Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Dallas TX

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:23 am    Post subject: Same issue... can't package because of the ExecuteReader Reply with quote

http://imgur.com/UzECV

Here is what I see from trying to use the packager with 2012.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please try this patch to SQL Packager? This gets it working in SQL 2012 for me. Thanks!

ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/sql_packager/SQL_Packager_6.6.0.347.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colbybhearn



Joined: 27 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2012 4:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
Can you please try this patch to SQL Packager? This gets it working in SQL 2012 for me. Thanks!

ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/sql_packager/SQL_Packager_6.6.0.347.zip


I just upgraded to SQL 2012 and was getting the same message. "ExecuteReader: CommandText property has not been initialized"
Thanks Brian, that small patch immediately fixed it.
-Colby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbelbin



Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
Can you please try this patch to SQL Packager? This gets it working in SQL 2012 for me. Thanks!

ftp://support.red-gate.com/patches/sql_packager/SQL_Packager_6.6.0.347.zip


I tried this package, and after it installed it basically removed the trial period from all of the SQL developer Toolbelt products. Any work around to that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colbybhearn



Joined: 27 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 11:11 pm    Post subject: Command Line Functionality Reply with quote

I hate to pile on another issue, but I think that patch (6.6.0.347) which fixed packaging through the GUI may have broken something else - Packager's command line interface (CLI) functionality seems to have changed. To make sure it was the patch, I re-installed Packager 6.4 and ran my CLI automation to verify it worked again. I then re-patched to 6.6 and changed nothing about the CLI or automation. I ran the CLI automation again and verified it no longer worked.

I have not yet compared product documentation to see if there is some switch that changed or got deprecated.

Here is the command line input/output: (carefully redacted)
Code:
C:\Users\MyUsername>"C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Packager 6\sqlpackager.exe" /verbose /server1:BuildServer /database1:"Ref_Database" /includedata:Table /rundatabase:"Db_Install_Name" /exe /name:"Db_Installer_Filename" /location:"C:\Program Files (x86)\RedGateOutpus\Installers" > C:\Users\MyUsername\Desktop\sql5.txt
Error: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.


Here is the content of the sql5.txt file:
Code:
SQL Packager Command Line V6.6.0.347
==============================================================================
Copyright c Red Gate Software Ltd 1999-2008

SQL Compare running with option: IgnoreFillFactor (OK).
SQL Compare running with option: IgnoreWhiteSpace (OK).
SQL Compare running with option: IncludeDependencies (OK).
SQL Compare running with option: IgnoreFileGroups (OK).
SQL Compare running with option: IgnoreUserProperties (OK).
SQL Compare running with option: IgnoreWithElementOrder (OK).
SQL Compare running with option: DecryptPost2kEncryptedObjects (OK).
Comparing database BuildServer.Ref_Database with database ....
Registering data sources
Creating mappings
Comparing
Applying Command Line Items
Retrieving migration scripts
Creating SQL

Summary Information
===============================================================================
DB1 = BuildServer.Ref_Database
DB2 =

Object type             Name                                           DB1 DB2
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
            ...Proper Object Enumeration Here...   
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Details - comparing BuildServer.Ref_Database with
===============================================================================
            ...Proper Object Content Here...
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Used mapping option 'IgnoreSpaces'
Used mapping option 'IncludeTimestamps'
Used mapping option 'IncludeIdentities'
Used Sql Option 'DisableKeys'
Used Sql Option 'DontOutputComments'
SQL Data Compare running with Mapping Option: IgnoreSpaces (OK).
SQL Data Compare running with Mapping Option: IncludeTimestamps (OK).
SQL Data Compare running with Mapping Option: IncludeIdentities (OK).
SQL Data Compare running with SQL Option: DisableKeys (OK).
SQL Data Compare running with SQL Option: DontOutputComments (OK).
SQL Data Compare running with Mapping Option: MissingFrom2AsInclude (OK).
Comparing database BuildServer.Ref_Database with database ....
Registering databases
Mapping


For clarity, the "BuildServer" is SQL Server 2008.
I can't find anything in the event log from Packager.
Is there anything that the patch changed about the CLI?
Is there anything I can do to find out more about what might be going wrong?
I'd greatly appreciate some help.
-Colby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

The patch was designed specifically to solve the problem at the top of this thread. Given all of these problems, I would uninstall the patch. I have notified the product manager that there is this problem and that some effort needs to be put into proper support for SQL Server 2012.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colbybhearn



Joined: 27 Sep 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 2:43 pm    Post subject: SQL 2012 Compatibility Reply with quote

Hey Brian,
I totally understand. Thanks for relaying the concerns.
-Colby
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calvin



Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any news on this being completed? I use Packager quite a bit and am getting close to my license renewal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dw5304



Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

having same issue as listed above with patch 6.6.0.347 any eta on fix?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GGinBerkeley



Joined: 12 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same issue as reported above. I can start SQL Packager (latest version). It can see my server, and the list of databases shows OK. After selecting a database to package, it goes to the next step, but that errors out.

It aborts when in the Register Database step, Reading Assemblies.

It says "ExecuteReader: CommandText property has not been initialized."

And it refuses to do anything else.

Note: I seem to be having similar issues when using SQL Compare too.

I have purchased licenses for both of these for myself, but they seem to be having problems running with SQL Server 2012.

I will try the patch, but it should be noted that your latest and greatest software products seem to be having some "issues" working properly with up-to-date versions of SQL Server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GGinBerkeley



Joined: 12 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK...that patch fixed my problem.

But...

1) I had to spend time searching for this fix, after your software refused to work in an up-to-date environment.

2) The readme file for that patch is very explicit. It says, "This patch is for the error "must declare scalar variable @pv" when running a package.
DO NOT install this patch unless you have the problem described."

But this was NOT the error I saw, so just installing the patch was an exercise in faith and ignoring your explicit warning.

Again...this was a waste of my time, that should NOT have been necessary.

I'm glad there is a patch, but why hasn't this been incorporated into the main branch? It's been over a year that you have been aware of the problem.

For the record, I really like your products, and use them on a near-daily basis (and I promote your products to my professional colleagues).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group