Red Gate forums :: View topic - 5.3.6: Stopped prompting variables in SSMS2012
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 5
SQL Prompt 5 forum

5.3.6: Stopped prompting variables in SSMS2012

Search in SQL Prompt 5 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 499
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:53 pm    Post subject: 5.3.6: Stopped prompting variables in SSMS2012 Reply with quote

MS Intellisense is turned off.

Whatever I do I can't get SQL Prompt interested in prompting me with either local variables or SP parameters.

Current script is at line 350 of a 900-line SP, with a single DECLARE for over 30 local variables immediately after the "AS".

All I get in the picker are @@ variables.

I KILLED SSMS2012 and fired it up fresh, too - NO CHANGE.

SQL Prompt is now USELESS - I might as well revert to Intellisense, at least it works!

Ideas?

As an aside, does anyone know how make SSMS2012 load in anything under 5 MINUTES? That sucker is a SLUG! I'd love to change the "Powered by Visual Studio" to "Impaired by ..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For performance reasons, the SQL Prompt parser only looks back a certain number of characters to find variable declarations.

By default, this is 5000 characters, but if you are happy editing XML files then it can be changed:

1. Open up "%LOCALAPPDATA%\Red Gate\SQL Prompt 5\RedGate_SqlPrompt_Engine_EngineOptions.xml" in a text editor.
2. Find the tag <ParserLookBackDistance>.
3. Increase the number in the tag from 5000 to something bigger like 30000.

Please be aware that very large values of this option have not been thoroughly tested and may cause performance degradation, so use with caution.
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 499
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Manfred. The ""%LOCALAPPDATA%\Red Gate\SQL Prompt 5\RedGate_SqlPrompt_Engine_EngineOptions.xml" file location doesn't resolve for Windows7. Do you have one for W7, please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the path
C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Red Gate\SQL Prompt 5
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 499
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Much improved.

Thanks for reminding me of the look-back - I just changed to laptop from a server for all my dev work and had the server value set very high.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 499
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a pending item to get this moved to the UI, Manfred?

I have no more votes, but it would be very user-friendly to move ALL the XML file's Engine options to the UI so we don't have to go diving down folders that differ by OS just to manually edit an XML file.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't believe there is an existing feature request for that capability.
You can request this in our uservoice forums
http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/94413-sql-prompt-feature-suggestions

I'm not sure if we can give you more votes but I don't think there is any reason you couldn't open a new account.
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 499
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I already have two! Why not three...? Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group