Red Gate forums :: View topic - Visual Studio 2012 Intellisense Problem
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt 5
SQL Prompt 5 forum

Visual Studio 2012 Intellisense Problem

Search in SQL Prompt 5 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
vincentw56



Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:09 pm    Post subject: Visual Studio 2012 Intellisense Problem Reply with quote

With SQL Prompt installed, there seems to be a little Intellisense problem. Looks like both the SQL Prompt and VS Intellisense prompts pop up. The VS one pops up over the SQL Prompt one. It doesn't allow you to use the arrow keys to select anything. See the image here: https://skydrive.live.com/embed?cid=9F1A550139A4BAE9&resid=9F1A550139A4BAE9%2146889&authkey=APIldsCFUBokDuA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6644

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

SQL Prompt installer disables native Intellisense, at least in version 5 and higher. You can always disable SSMS Intellisense manually and that will stop both of them trying to work at the same time.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms173743.aspx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vincentw56



Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is Visual Studio 2012 not SSMS. I did disable the built in Intellisense in Visual Studio, but then I lose column names and such.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vincentw56



Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance this is being worked on for a future fix? To me, this is a big deal with VS compatibility.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6644

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is logged with the development team as SP-4546. They have not provided any comment on this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vincentw56



Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
This is logged with the development team as SP-4546. They have not provided any comment on this issue.


Great! Didn't know if it was or not. Thanks for the update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Digga



Joined: 09 Jan 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also seeing the behaviour described by Vincent, could we please have a patch for this or an expected fix date?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group