Red Gate forums :: View topic - HTML name
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Doc 2
SQL Doc 2 forum

HTML name

Search in SQL Doc 2 forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
lkalman@financemgr.com



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:27 pm    Post subject: HTML name Reply with quote

I am creating a interactive HTML document.

Every time I run SQL DOC it creates a new TimeStamp Folder
Such as TFS08-2012-11-01T12-54-34.

We are using source Control and this will treat the folder as a new folder every time.

I am looking to create a folder and keep it the same name and only commit the changes to my repository.

The Images also seem to get recreated. The program should check it certain files exists before recreating them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6643

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I believe un-ticking the "Include time stamp" option on the "Generate Documentation" form is the one that will solve that particular problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lkalman@financemgr.com



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this option exists in the command prompt as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6643

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The /outputfolder argument is supposed to let you override the output folder. Does that work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lkalman@financemgr.com



Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my Script the
/outputfolder places the timestamp folder in the c:\temp folder instead of the default folder

"C:\Program Files\Red Gate\SQL Doc 2\"sqldoc /Project:"c:\temp\TFS08.sqldoc" /force /Filetype:html-frames /outputfolder:c:\temp /out:TFS08.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6643

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. This is now logged as bug SDOC-1377. I suppose a workaround would be a batch file to rename the folder after it's created.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jasoncleme



Joined: 16 Jan 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:03 pm    Post subject: Workaround is Powershell Reply with quote

Me and my team are using Red-gate's SQLDOC for our DB Docs. We have a built nightly PowerShell that run SQLDOC command line that is running to over the current post SQLDOCs.

The workaround to to have one sub-folder for each server/project.

Code:
<# 
 =====================
 Delete Current SQLDOC
 =====================
#>
$path = '\\server\d$\PVP\PVP21\webcontent\Powershell\Database_Documentation\DBPrime1\'
Get-ChildItem $path  |
    Sort-Object { $_.Name -as [Version] } |
    Select-Object -Last 1 |
    Remove-Item -recurse
<# 
 ===============
 Create SQLDOC
 ===============
#>
$CMD = 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Doc 2\sqldoc.exe'
$arg1 = '/project:H:\My Documents\SQL Server Management Studio\Red-Gate\DBPrime1.sqldoc'
$arg2 = '/filetype:html-frames'
$arg3 = '/force'
$arg4 = '/outputfolder:"\\server\d$\PVP\PVP21\webcontent\Powershell\Database_Documentation\DBPrime1"'
 
& $CMD $arg1 $arg2 $arg3 $arg4

<#
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Red Gate\SQL Doc 2\sqldoc.exe" /project:"H:\My Documents\SQL Server Management Studio\Red-Gate\DBPrime1.sqldoc" /filetype:html-frames /force /outputfolder:"\\server\d$\PVP\PVP21\webcontent\Powershell\Database_Documentation\DBPrime1"
#>

<# 
 ===============
 Rename Directory
 ===============
#>
cd \\server\d$\PVP\PVP21\webcontent\Powershell\Database_Documentation\DBPrime1
dir | Where-Object {$_.Name} | Rename-Item -NewName "DBPrime1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group