Red Gate forums :: View topic - Fully qualify object name
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare 10
SQL Compare 10 forum

Fully qualify object name

Search in SQL Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
activemind



Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Fully qualify object name Reply with quote

I'm currently working on a database migration and one of the task was to fully qualify the objects in the new database. The old database has default "dbo" schema, and many of the existing procs do not have the default "dbo" schema with its TSQL. When I do a SQL compare, I have to remap "dbo" to my "newSchema" in the new database.

When I generate the procs, redgate does fully qualify the new schema name for me in the generated scripts, however, it is also qualifying all the keywords such as MAX, DATEPART, COUNT etc.

So a statement like the following:
Select COUNT(*) FROM Person
would be scripted to:
SELECT [newschema].[COUNT](*) FROM [newschema].[Person]

I have a database with hundreds of stored procedures and having to go through the generated script and making these changes is quite an undertaking, and this obviously is a bug. Does anyone know how I could get around this?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6580

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please verify your version of SQL Compare? This seems to be a bug in v8 that has since been fixed in v10. Hopefuly it hasn't come back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
activemind



Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Absolutely, it is 10.2.0.1337.
Thanks Brian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6580

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess the bug came back. I'll try to get it looked into.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group