Red Gate forums :: View topic - SQL backup 7.0 - There is already a copy of sql backup runni
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Backup 7
SQL Backup 7 forum

SQL backup 7.0 - There is already a copy of sql backup runni

Search in SQL Backup 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
murali.tal@aztec.com.au



Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:50 am    Post subject: SQL backup 7.0 - There is already a copy of sql backup runni Reply with quote

I recently purchased the reg gate licenses and after the instalaltion i was getting this message when i tried to opened it "There is already a copy of SQL Backup running on this computer".

This is the first time i installed on a server.

Do any one come acrross this problem? Please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6648

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I've seen this one a few times - it's caused by the existence of a "lockfile" on the client-side activity history database that the SQL Backup Console uses. Since you can only have one console per user session, it assumes that if there is a lockfile present, the user is already running SQL Backup Console.

Please check %userprofile%\appdata\local\red gate\sql backup for a file called lockfile.pid. If it exists, delete it or check that it is not being locked by an anti-virus scan. If not, ensure you have full rights to the folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murali.tal@aztec.com.au



Joined: 07 Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Sydney

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the post.

There isn't any file named lockfile.pid in the location %userprofile%\appdata\local\red gate\sql backup. I checked with system administrator that anti virus isn't blocking.

When i looked at the task manager-->processes i can see that the redgate bakcup GUI is running in the background. After i killed the process i can able to open the redgate GUI.

Wasn't sure why it didn't stop the processes when i close the GUI. Is there a permission issue? But i was able to kill the redgate process using the same login.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6648

PostPosted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I can't determine the cause of this. There must have been a worker thread running that did not terminate when you closed the window. If this happens again, we can try attaching a debugger and getting a stack dump to try to see what it's doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Randy Doub



Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll find this happens fairly often. Task Manager > End Process and restart the gui.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6648

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This never happens to me, unfortunately. If it happens again, please try this:
  • download ftp://support.red-gate.com/utilities/redflagdebugger.zip
  • Extract and run redflag-x86
  • Use Actions->attach process and attach to RedGate.SQLBackup.ui.exe
  • Use actions->dump stacks
  • Copy the window content (click in it and CTRL-c)
  • Close window
  • Actions->detach process
  • Paste results into a forum reply


I should be able to interpret this and at least tell you what backup is doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meklembl



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 89
Location: Solon, OH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intermittently, this occurs on my client PC as well. Thanks for the process to use to report this. I have normally just killed the RedGate.SQLBackup.UI process on my PC and everything works.
_________________
Larry M
Cleveland, OH USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meklembl



Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 89
Location: Solon, OH, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, I cannot say for sure, but this happens to me when I use the Windows "X" to close the program on my PC and is less likely to occur when I use the menu File/Exit process.
_________________
Larry M
Cleveland, OH USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rre



Joined: 07 Jul 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This happens also for me from time to time. Sometimes I used window "X" button, sometimes the shortcut ALT + F4 or the Exit item from the File menu.
I can't say for sure with which way the problem occur for now.

To solve it I use the task manager to kill the running process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group