Red Gate forums :: View topic - Issue with Custom Installation Screen
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Packager 6
SQL Packager 6 forum

Issue with Custom Installation Screen

Search in SQL Packager 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
JackLocke



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:20 pm    Post subject: Issue with Custom Installation Screen Reply with quote

Hi All,
I am having a strange issue with our SQL Packager. I have modified Original C# template to include our EULA as first screen of installation steps. And installation proceeds only if users accepts EULA. Since this EULA is very large it is stored in resource file of a form.
Then I use this template to generate EXE from it. But when I run this generated EXE it shows me following error on command prompt and terminates installation process,

Quote:
Error:
Could not find any resources appropriate for the specified culture or the neutral culture. Make sure "SQLPackage1.EULA.resources" was correctly embedded or linked into assembly "SQLPackage1" at compile time, or that all the satellite assemblies required are loadable and fully signed.



I also tried to set, "COPY ALWAYS" for property of resource of that WinForm but it doesn't help.

Oddly if I create C# Project instead of an EXE ...and then run that project then I can run that EXE just fine ... because that resx file exists !

Any suggestion is appreciated. I am using Packager version 6.4

Thank You,
Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this problem occurs because the Form class is not the first class in the code module of the form.

To resolve this problem, move all of the other class definitions so that they appear after the form's class definition.


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318603

Hope this helps
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JackLocke



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Manfred.Castro wrote:
I think this problem occurs because the Form class is not the first class in the code module of the form.

To resolve this problem, move all of the other class definitions so that they appear after the form's class definition.


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318603

Hope this helps


Before posting question here, I googled this error and already found this KB from MSFT.
I am not very good at .NET, I work mostly with Database. But if you read that KB then you will see that I should get same error when I build and run that project even from solution .. correct ?? But in my case, I am getting this error only when I directly produce an EXE. If I am generating C# project and then build/run this project I dont get any error.

So it looks like that when I build using Visual Studio it includes form resource file but for some reasons this resource doesn't get included by SQL Packager when generates that EXE.... Or I am missing something obvious Very Happy

Thanks,
Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JackLocke



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone ?
No other suggestions ?

Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you try.

1.Right click on your ResourseFile
2.Change the BuildAction property Compile to EmbededReSource
3.Then build and run
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JackLocke



Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 7:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Manfred.Castro wrote:
Can you try.

1.Right click on your ResourseFile
2.Change the BuildAction property Compile to EmbededReSource
3.Then build and run


Hi Manfred,
This is default option for resouce file. And I double checked that buildaction property is EmbededResouce.
But this didn't helped me Sad ...

Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Manfred.Castro



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want you can send your template to support@red-gate.com with F0064045 in the subject and we can take a look at it.
_________________
Manfred Castro
Product Support
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group