Red Gate forums :: View topic - profiling a web page with querystring arguments
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 7
ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum

profiling a web page with querystring arguments

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
tschlarm



Joined: 28 Nov 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:57 pm    Post subject: profiling a web page with querystring arguments Reply with quote

I searched this forum and could not find any help for this issue.

I guess I'm missing something. I'm profiling an ASP.NET 4 application with the web development server (or IIS Express). I'd like to pass a query string arguments to the page (not in the root folder) I want to profile, but there doesn't seem to be a box on the 'New Profiling Session' dialog. If I append a '?arg=value' to the path the 'Start Profiling' button is greyed out.

I suspect a redirect page would work but seems needlessly silly. Launching an intermediate page that doesn't take arguments and having to modify the string in the URL bar works also seems a bit off.

Other project types have an argument box so why not web applications?

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6649

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URL box filters out anything that would normally appear in a traditional file name (ends with *.asp|*.aspx|*.htm, etc), so you cannot enter querystring values there. There is nothing to stop you, once the browser starts, to manually put the query string into the browser's address bar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tschlarm



Joined: 28 Nov 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, which is what I am doing. I am only saying this is not really optimal and an argument input box would be a welcome enhancement to the dialog should someone at RG care to enter it into the bugbase.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dom.smith



Joined: 03 Jun 2010
Posts: 94
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your feedback. I've added this request to our bug system, where it has internal reference PP-2259. Unfortunately, I can't promise an immediate fix but it will be considered when we are planning the next version.
_________________
Dominic Smith,
Project Manager,
Red Gate Software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tschlarm



Joined: 28 Nov 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. That's all I can ask.

Thanks for all your efforts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group