Red Gate forums :: View topic - Analysis shows HarddiskVolume# after 3.1.0.125 upgrade
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 3
SQL Monitor 3 forum

Analysis shows HarddiskVolume# after 3.1.0.125 upgrade

Search in SQL Monitor 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Brady1408



Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:43 pm    Post subject: Analysis shows HarddiskVolume# after 3.1.0.125 upgrade Reply with quote

I used to see the drive label, now instead my volumes are showing up as

HarddiskVolume7
HarddiskVolume8
HarddiskVolume9...

Any help getting these back to their labels would be great thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 329
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your post.
Please can you send me the SQL Monitor error logs, as described here:
http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/content/SQL_Monitor/help/3.0/SM_LogFiles

Please can you send these to support@red-gate.com and quote the support ticket number F0061615.
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brady1408



Joined: 05 Dec 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe I have found the issue, we are looking at the wrong node, the active node has the correct labels and it is the inactive node that does not.

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EdCarden



Joined: 25 Nov 2008
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 6:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brady1408 wrote:
I believe I have found the issue, we are looking at the wrong node, the active node has the correct labels and it is the inactive node that does not.

Thanks,


What do you mean by "inactive node"? I too am now seeing harddiskvolumneXX (where XX changes daily) on Disk Space alerts for our new server and I'd like to know why. Is this some quirk of VMWare?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 329
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SQL Monitor will display the name of any disk as it is named in the Performance Counters.

So far we have found that while Microsoft products will give these entries the drive letter (or whatever is appropriate) a number of third party tools will use ‘HardDiskVolumeX’. While we don't have a fix as such, we believe that this is the explanation for the behaviour.
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group