Red Gate forums :: View topic - Backup databases whose names includes spaces
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Backup 7
SQL Backup 7 forum

Backup databases whose names includes spaces

Search in SQL Backup 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
fredmut



Joined: 21 Jun 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Backup databases whose names includes spaces Reply with quote

I need to backup a set of databases (via SQL Agent job) with names that include spaces (yes I know that's not best practice). I'm using a command like EXECUTE master..sqlbackup ''-SQL "BACKUP DATABASES [Bad Database Name].... but it doesn't parse. I've tried surrounding the name in double quotes and square brackets without success. Any help would be greately appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marianne



Joined: 03 Oct 2011
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanks for your post. When using the extended stored procedure, the parameters must be surrounded by one set of single quotes, so any variables inside the command must be surrounded by two sets of single quotes (or square brackets). If your database name includes spaces, you should surround it with square brackets, rather than two pairs of single quotes. Your command should look like this (replacing variables and WITH options as required):

Code:
execute master..sqlbackup '-sql "BACKUP DATABASE [database name] TO DISK = ''C:\Backups\<AUTO>.sqb'' WITH CHECKSUM, THREADCOUNT = 3" '

(The disk location is surrounded by two sets of single quotes, whereas the BACKUP command is surrounded by one set of double quotes. The entire parameter is surrounded by one set of single quotes.)

There is more information about using the extended stored procedure here: http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content/SQL_Backup/help/7.1/SBU_UsingStoredProc and examples of SQL Backup syntax here: http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content/SQL_Backup/help/7.1/SBU_Toolkit_syntax_egs

If this doesn't help, can you post the exact command you are using?

Thanks,

Marianne
_________________
Marianne Crowder
Red Gate Software Limited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fredmut



Joined: 21 Jun 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Marianne. I'll give that a try. One more question - can I pass in a TSQL like variable for the database name so I don't have to maintain a hard coded list of databases to backup or exclude? I'm not finding that addressed in the documentation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group