Red Gate forums :: View topic - Multiple Base Monitors dumping into one Repository?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 3
SQL Monitor 3 forum

Multiple Base Monitors dumping into one Repository?

Search in SQL Monitor 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
bettername



Joined: 20 Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:20 pm    Post subject: Multiple Base Monitors dumping into one Repository? Reply with quote

Hi,

Just wondering the the above was possible?

Basically, I've got some boxes monitored on our network, but we also have some boxes hosted "out there somewhere" - there is a constant VPN between us and the host, and SQL traffic flows freely, but the monitoring stuff (WMI etc) DOESN'T (could be firewall issues, could be untrusted domains). Splitting the monitoring duties (ie: repository/base/web at each site) works fine, but means there are two sites to browse, which is a bore.


So, to summarise, can I have:

Local Domain:
Base monitor monitoring SQL boxes down here
Repository
Web - for local & hosted data

Hosted Domain:
Base monitor monitoring SQL hosted SQL Boxes, but dumping data to repository in Local Domain.

Cheers...
J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 327
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, it isn't currently possible to have two Base Monitor services inserting data into a single data repository. It sounds like you are already using the best workaround of having two separate installs. While this is not ideal, it is technically the easier and more reliable way of doing it.
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheLonelyDBA



Joined: 30 Oct 2013
Posts: 18
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello. I'm a new user to RedGate tools, and the first one I'll test is the SQL Monitor.

Currently we have 2 domains on my work network, so I was searching the forums for similar setups in order to know what to do.

Do the support team has any news regarding this kind of environment? Is this supported on SQL Monitor 3.5 by now?

I have not yet installed the services, but will do it soon and this information will be important.

regards,
_________________
Tips and thoughts on MS SQL, Oracle and MongoDB:
http://thelonelydba.wordpress.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group