Red Gate forums :: View topic - Trouble profiling WCF 3.5 in IIS 6
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 7
ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum

Trouble profiling WCF 3.5 in IIS 6

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
dangerwit



Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:18 pm    Post subject: Trouble profiling WCF 3.5 in IIS 6 Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm trying to use profiler 7 (full version) to profile a WCF service hosted in IIS 6, on Win Server 2003. I am having trouble getting any meaningful trace in the profiler. I don't know if they are related but here are the steps.

Using original port
1. Installed profiler 7 on existing QA environment.
2. Run profiler, start a new session
a. Select ASP.NET web application (IIS)
b. Enter root of service in URL (e.g. http://localhost/MyService); also tried with actual url (http://localhost/MyService/Service.svc) with identical results.
c. Profiling mode: Line-level (most detailed)
d. Profile on original port
3. Start

I do see w3wp and friends recycling, and after generating traffic from a remote client, I see activity. However, the code trace stops at a constructor and does not allow me to deep-dive into it. I can point it to the single source code file (service.cs), and it shows the right code, but it does not allow me to deep-dive past that one assembly.

Using unused port
When I try to do the same with an unused port (e.g. 81), the site never responds. That is, trying to get the wsdl (http://localhost/MyService/MyService.svc?wsdl) shows a 404 both locally and remotely (using the server's IP of course).

I am much more interested in using port 80 and trying to get my code deep dive to work. I looked at the integration directions on here, and I didn't see anything relevant.

Oh, and I'm doing all this on the server as an administrator, if that matters.

Any ideas? I am clearly doing things incorrectly.

*Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangerwit



Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should add that the object being initialized is another in-house library for which we have source code. The overall time for the object instantiation is shown, but shown as "JIT overhead 100%", and no extra timings.

Thanks again for any help,
*Phil[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessica.ramos



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Phil,

If I am understanding correctly.. the profiler works alright and remains attached to your application, but stops showing results after a certain point?

In case the site is breaking somehow with the line level option, does profiling in a less detailed setting change anything?
_________________
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangerwit



Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the huge delay, many other irons in the fire here.

I will try a less-detailed level and post back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangerwit



Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of all the things to try, I never tried this. Yes, I switched to method-level timings this morning and it works much better. It appears I can deep-dive into code as well.

Am I just missing out on line-level timings then? I still see timings for my functions, which is just fine.

*Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jessica.ramos



Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's no problem--I'm glad to hear that things are working better with method level timings! Smile

If you were previously using one of the line-level profiling modes, these are more intrusive on your code which explains why it may have been breaking your site. You can read more about the different profiling modes here: http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/content/ANTS_Performance_Profiler/articles/ProfilingModes
_________________
Jessica Ramos
Technical Support
Red Gate Software Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group