Red Gate forums :: View topic - Issue with "BindingList" as DataSource for Gridview
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 6
SmartAssembly 6 forum

Issue with "BindingList" as DataSource for Gridview

Search in SmartAssembly 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
woody



Joined: 15 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 10:41 pm    Post subject: Issue with "BindingList" as DataSource for Gridview Reply with quote

Hello,

I am using Smart Assembly 6.6.4.95 with DevExpress. I have run into occasional problems with "Pruning" and thought maybe I should start posting them. I often use BindingList<T> as the DataSource for a DevExpress GridView to provide users with a quick view to data objects, using the following code:

BindingList<MyDataObject> gridBatchDataList = new BindingList<MyDataObject>();
gridControl1.DataSource = gridBatchDataList;

With "Pruning" enabled all the data is lost, and the gridview displays only one column with the object name repeated on each row. If this is not enough detail and you need a sample project, please let me know where to send it.

Best regards,
Woody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6671

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think it's practical to plumb in exclusions for every case where pruning will break a program, and we cannot know when code will be invoked outside of the normal .NET rules, like Microsoft's WPF and DevExpress components do. So this is not a "bug" that can be fixed really...

What I usually do is debug, try to find the name of the type that can't be accessed, and exclude that manually from pruning. I appreciate that this may be really difficult to do, but unfortunately it will be impossible to make SA produce assemblies that "just work" if vendors are invoking private members across DLLs and other such things they're not supposed to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
woody



Joined: 15 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Brian,

Sorry, I should have mentioned that this is an issue with the standard Visual Studio 2010 dataGridView as well:

BindingList<MyDataObject> gridBatchDataList = new BindingList<MyDataObject>();
dataGridView.DataSource = gridBatchDataList;

Not doing anything special here.

Best regards,
Woody
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6671

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Woody,

I can't reproduce your issue with the datagrid. I suspect it almost has to be a serialization problem, as this is what SmartAssembly most commonly breaks. You may want to apply the Serializable attribute to your MyDataObject class to make sure it doesn't get pruned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group