Red Gate forums :: View topic - JavaScript errors after upgrade
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Monitor 3
SQL Monitor 3 forum

JavaScript errors after upgrade

Search in SQL Monitor 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
soxfanjim



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:16 pm    Post subject: JavaScript errors after upgrade Reply with quote

I just upgraded from SQL Monitor 2.3 to version 3.0. I immediately starting getting errors on the Overviews page. I seem to get it there every time. I also got it on the Analysis page after selecting a metric, then changing the Time Range value from "Last 10 mins" to "Last hour". Here's a sample of the error in XML format from the Event Viewer log:

Code:
- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
  <Provider Name="SQL Monitor 3" />
  <EventID Qualifiers="0">0</EventID>
  <Level>2</Level>
  <Task>0</Task>
  <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
  <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-03-28T19:54:43.000000000Z" />
  <EventRecordID>237</EventRecordID>
  <Channel>Red Gate Software</Channel>
  <Computer>MyServer.MyDomain.com</Computer>
  <Security />
  </System>
- <EventData>
  <Data>2012-03-28 19:54:43,056 [8] ERROR RedGate.Response.UI.Website.Controllers.DisplayErrorsController [(null)] - Client javascript error RedGate.Response.UI.Website.Controllers.ClientJavascriptException: Failed Page Url: / User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729) at http://localhost:8080/static/3.0.0.1573/Scripts/RedGate.Response.js:line 190</Data>
  </EventData>
  </Event>


My installation went along without a hitch according to the instructions. Ours is a single server install running on a Windows 2008 R2/IIS7 machine with a SQL Server 2008 R2 repository. We are using a domain account as the base monitor connection. The server configuration and authentication is unchanged from our v2.3 installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soxfanjim



Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:07 pm    Post subject: Follow-up to JavaScript error - browser issue? Reply with quote

I encountered these errors immediately after the upgrade while testing the app from the server console. I was running Internet Explorer there (not sure which version) but run FireFox 11.0 on my desktop. I do not appear to be having JS issues when hitting SQL Monitor from my desktop via FireFox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

We have a known issue with IE7/IE8 browsers that we believe to be intermittent. Have you tried restarting your browser to see if this issue goes away?

Alternatively upgrading to IE9 (or switching to Chrome or Firefox) would very likely prevent this issue from reoccuring with the added benefit of making the web pages run far quicker.

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PDinCA



Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 503
Location: Costa Mesa, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
An error has occurred. Try refreshing the page: the problem may be temporary.Error details
http://localhost:8080/static/3.0.0.1575/Scripts/RedGate.Response.js: 324
Failed
Cleared up by using Chrome - and yes, FASTER PAGE LOADS is better Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6582

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had another one of these reported yesterday. I think it's caused by a security setting that is meant to prevent cross-site scripting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrighla



Joined: 13 Apr 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same problem after my upgrade. It comes up correct on the first browser hit, after that it only shows "Loading... 0 " on each server. The top of the page shows: "An error has occurred. Try refreshing the page: the problem may be temporary.Error details
http://rcpx-sqlmonitor:8080/static/3.0.0.1573/Scripts/RedGate.Response.js: 324
Failed".

While I can use those other browsers, we have a company standard to use IE8 and would like to have it work. Is there a setting that can be changed in IE to make it work again or can a fix be put in place?

Lloyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6582

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't replicate the problem, but I would try putting the site into the list of trusted sites.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6582

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could also be that the web server is closing the connection without sending any data to satisfy the jQuery request, however, I find it odd that suddenly we're having a lot of 324 errors being reported.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6582

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it could also be a data-driven error, for instance some data being sent from the website doesn't conform to the JSON specification...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pbezanson



Joined: 13 Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Portland, OR USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adding the SQL Monitor site to my "Trusted Sites" zone seems to have resolved the problem for me. (At least for now.)

It seems reasonable to think that if you remove it from your Trusted Sites zone, you may be one step closer to duplicating this problem.

IMHO, this is a serious compatibility issue with the most widely used browser on the internet. (Yes, I know IE is declining rapidly in popularity but, at least for now, it appears to still be in the lead.) Moreover, many companies have business critical web applications that prevent them from moving to other browsers (or even other versions of Internet Explorer). Switching to another browser just isn't an option in many cases and certainly no solution to this problem.

Hopefully, adding the SQL Monitor site to the Trusted Sites zone will be a workable solution for others as it seems to have been for me. Thanks for the suggestion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6582

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for following up. I did try to replicate the issue without success, but only by creating a host entry pointing to localhost and then using that hostname in the URL for the SQL Monitor website. I suppose Windows is smart enough to know that the alias is the same computer in that case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SQLGator



Joined: 02 Dec 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 1:28 pm    Post subject: I hsving errors as well Reply with quote

http://sqlprod40:81/static/3.0.0.1575/Scripts/RedGate.Response.js: 324
Failed

Is the error that I am getting, but did not receive in the EAP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2012 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've just updated the v3.0 release build to 3.0.0.1593. This update includes a few maintenance fixes but notably uses a newer version of JQUERY which could potentially fix any issues with IE7/IE8. As we've been unable to reproduce this particular error internally we can't guarantee however that it will be resolved.

The update can be downloaded from here : http://www.red-gate.com/products/dba/sql-monitor/download
(use the 'Returning customer installer download' link on the right)

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chefi_d



Joined: 12 Apr 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 8:32 pm    Post subject: Upgrade to v3.0 release build to 3.0.0.1593 Reply with quote

Hello, I just upgraded to v 3.0.0.1575, but I still have databases showing Offline status in SQL Monitor. Would build 1593 resolve this issue? How can I be sure that my current license key allows me to upgrade to 1593 if I decide to do this? Are there any specific when upgrading to it?
Thanks,
Stefka
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Spencer



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 301
Location: Red Gate - Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes the 'databases offline' issue should be fixed in build 1593. This wasn't a straightforward fix and we'd appreciate it if you could let us know if the new build resolves the issue for you.

If you've got a v3 license key (or current support & upgrades) then it should still work with the new build.

Any issues let us know.

Regards
Chris
_________________
Chris Spencer
Test Engineer
Red Gate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group