Red Gate forums :: View topic - "Summarizing results..." forever
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
ANTS Performance Profiler 7
ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum

"Summarizing results..." forever

Search in ANTS Performance Profiler 7 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
samid



Joined: 07 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:15 am    Post subject: "Summarizing results..." forever Reply with quote

Hi,

Today I upgraded from Performance profiler 6.* to 7 (developer bundle, to be exact), and cannot get line-level profiling to work anymore. I am profiling a rather large project, and if I choose line-level profiling (only for my code), run my program and select a region - I get the "Summarizing results" screen that sits there forever (I actually waited 2 hours). Before the upgrade (this morning), profiling the same actions in the same project, the wait time was insignificant (not more than a minute at most). Now it doesn't work at all. The project is a large WinForms .NET 4.0 project running from VS 2010. On a small test project line level profiling seems to work fine but on my real project - no go. Method level profiling works fine. Any ideas?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your post and I'm sorry you've run into trouble.
We're interested in establishing what may be happening here. I'm assuming you never actually get to the point of viewing your results, correct? If you do, then we'd like to see those. Failing that, the log file file would be the next step (you can find the option for this on the Help menu) - can you mail this across to support@red-gate.com, quoting F0058203 in the subject line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samid



Joined: 07 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for replying. You're right, I never get to the point where I could see the results. I have emailed the log to the address you provided, according to it something did go wrong. Let me know if it helps to identify the problem.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I've received the file- will pass it across to the profiler team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Laura Morley



Joined: 22 Jun 2011
Posts: 34
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your report, samid, and sorry to hear you're having this problem. We think it may be an example of a bug we have logged, PP-1846 - we're investigating that now. I'll let you know when we have some more news. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
parlabane



Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also running into this problem. I just spin forever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is some sort of bug in ANTS Performance Profiler - if you look at the logs, there is probably something around "Tried to access an out of range method ID". (PP-1846)

Profiler will still work in methods-only mode.

So far, nobody has worked out the cause for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6645

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been told that you may be able to get around this problem simply by selecting another area on the timeline. Hopefully that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samid



Joined: 07 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

Brian Donahue wrote:
I've been told that you may be able to get around this problem simply by selecting another area on the timeline. Hopefully that helps.


Thanks, that does seem to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone else is experiencing this problem, please try the update available from here.

Please note, this is an untested build intended to correct only the problem described in this thread. If you aren't experiencing this problem then we recommend you don't install this version.

A full fix will be pushed through into Check for Updates in the near future hopefully, and we'll post back when that's available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group