Red Gate forums :: View topic - Generated insert script contains column nulls.
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Compare 10
SQL Data Compare 10 forum

Generated insert script contains column nulls.

Search in SQL Data Compare 10 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
Geneo



Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:40 pm    Post subject: Generated insert script contains column nulls. Reply with quote

Does anyone know if there is a way to exclude specific columns from the compare, but have the values populate in the sync script for inserts? I have some large tables that contain boring audit columns with different values on source and target. I'd like to ignore them for comparison purposes, yet include them in the generated insert script when the row does not exist on the target.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 940
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your post into the forum.

Unfortunately what you are seeking to achieve is not available in SQL Data Compare.

Therefore I have updated an existing Feature Request, reference SDC-778, with the details of your forum post and marked the request for review.

Hopefully the SQL Data Compare Development Team and Product manager will review this request and include it in a future version of the product.

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Geneo



Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Eddie, I would use a view with "dummy" values in the audit columns, but the source database is production where I cannot create views on the fly. If there was a select option to define the table on source and target that would be great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jacquers



Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Has this feature request been added yet?

Thx,
Jacques
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group