Red Gate forums :: View topic - "Enterprise" version of the SQL Backup Pro client?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Backup 6
SQL Backup 6 forum

"Enterprise" version of the SQL Backup Pro client?

Search in SQL Backup 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
mdgraves



Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:24 pm    Post subject: "Enterprise" version of the SQL Backup Pro client? Reply with quote

My DBA team currently manages 104 SQL instances, having a total database count (approx) 1000.

Our current configuration is SQL Backup Pro is installed locally for each SQL instance, with our in-house SQL code running via SQL Agent making the command line Backup Pro calls. Each of these calls uses a backup drive (locally on each server) for storage of the backup file.

We would like to change the topography to manage the backups from a single client, one at each of our two data centers, and use a single storage location (at each data center) for storage of the backup files.

Is there an "Enterprise" version of the SQL Backup Pro client? We would like to manage the 1000 databases from a database view, not segmented by individual SQL instance groupings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdgraves



Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:43 pm    Post subject: Or Reply with quote

Maybe I can write remote command line calls from a server in each data center if no UI is available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdgraves



Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:07 pm    Post subject: Or - more Reply with quote

Can I see all databases for servers placed into LOCATION(s) and/or GROUP(s)? And scheduled jobs too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

For this type of solution, you'll probably want to get away from using the command-line client as it can't be invoked remotely using the SQL Backup management console. The Professional edition is the highest edition, and it allows you to manage backups and restores remotely. You can add as many servers into the SQL Backup console and group them by location.

Using the SQL Backup console this way, you will use the console to send backup commands directly to the SQL Server, which will get the SQL Backup server components to do the necessary work.

If you have any more questions, please let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdgraves



Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:18 pm    Post subject: batch register servers Reply with quote

Brian
As I have @ 104 SQL instances, is there a command line and/or batch method to register servers on that one centralized console? Modify backend data files, etc. to get all 104 SQL instances registered. Also, to add schedule backups, etc.?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SQL Backup hasn't got the ability to automatically add servers to manage. You do get a backup scheduling wizard once a server is registered though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group