Red Gate forums :: View topic - Filters on from source control "Schema Compare/Deploy" tab
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 3
SQL Source Control 3 forum

Filters on from source control "Schema Compare/Deploy" tab

Search in SQL Source Control 3 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
sux.stellino



Joined: 14 Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Location: it

PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 11:08 am    Post subject: Filters on from source control "Schema Compare/Deploy" tab Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm deploying stored procedures from database A to database B via "Schema Compare/Deploy" tab of Sql Source Control. I'm comparing the latest changeset of database A to the database B schema. I'm doing it using the button "Compare/Deploy with SQL Compare..".
Ok until here..

When SQL Compare appears I noticed that in the filter section there is a default "Source Control Filter 1" item selected.
I created my filter in the past and I'd like to know if there is a chance to use it by default when I compare a specific database.
If I compare A to B, I'd like to get my designed filter for A and B.
If I compare C to D, I'd like to get my designed filter for C and D.

Is there a way to do this?
And what about change at least for a different default (always the filter for A and B)?
thanks in advance!
_________________
Alessandro Alpi
Head of Database Administration@Goldbet Sportwetten GmbH
Microsoft MVP - Most Valuable Professional
SQL Server - Systems Administrator
http://mvp.microsoft.com/profiles/Alessandro.Alpi

[MCP] [MCITP - Database Developer] [MCTS] [MCT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
micheleidesmith



Joined: 04 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:18 pm    Post subject: Using saved filter settings Reply with quote

Iím afraid this is not currently possible from within SSMS. But we are planning a new version of the Integration Pack which enable you to load a pre-saved filter for a specific pair of databases (e.g. A to B, or C to D). This will work as follows:
1. Create a custom filter within SQL Compare.
2. Save the filter as part of a comparison project settings in SQL Compare.
3. Load the saved project settings from the main Schema Compare/Deploy tab in SSMS. This will load the details for the database (or repository) you want to use as a source and target for the comparison, the custom filter you have saved and any other SQL Compare project options you have saved.

Would this solve the problem for you?

We are hoping to issue a new release of the Integration Pack mid-way through this year (Q2).

Can I ask if you use the SQL Compare project settings at the moment? If so, what do you use them for? What kind of settings do you save within your projects? E.g. project options, filters, mappings.

If you are not familiar with SQL Compare projects, please see this page for more information: http://www.red-gate.com/SupportCenter/Content/SQL_Compare/help/10.0/sc_working_with_projects
_________________
Michele Ide-Smith
User Experience Specialist
Red Gate Software
michele.ide-smith@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sux.stellino



Joined: 14 Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Location: it

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:04 am    Post subject: Re: Using saved filter settings Reply with quote

micheleidesmith wrote:

Would this solve the problem for you?

Yes it will, and, if possible, let the system to choose the most used setting, that will be like a "default" setting. What do you think about that?

micheleidesmith wrote:

Can I ask if you use the SQL Compare project settings at the moment? If so, what do you use them for? What kind of settings do you save within your projects? E.g. project options, filters, mappings.

I use project settings to preset my filter on different branches to organize better the releases. When I started to use changesets instead of direct database I found the problem I described in the last post. This is the reason why I was asking. Using the contextual compare (right mouse compare/deploy) doesn't allow me to use a preconfigured project setting.
I have a complex scenario with 5 dev branches, the main line and one rtm line so merging/branching/migrating and releasing are my daily missions to accomplish.

Your proposed solution will be ok imho.
Thanks a lot
_________________
Alessandro Alpi
Head of Database Administration@Goldbet Sportwetten GmbH
Microsoft MVP - Most Valuable Professional
SQL Server - Systems Administrator
http://mvp.microsoft.com/profiles/Alessandro.Alpi

[MCP] [MCITP - Database Developer] [MCTS] [MCT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
bigminer



Joined: 05 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:19 pm    Post subject: similar issue Reply with quote

From SSMS > selected database > Other SQL source control tasks > Edit filter rules. I have edited my filter and committed that to source control. No problem. Now if i unlink my database from source control and link it again it doesn't load the filter.scpf that I modified the first time. It recognizes that it is different and presents me with the option to commit the default filter, but I don't want to do that.

If I look in the base location i see that the filter.scpf doesn't exist there. However, if i do svn update on that folder i get the filter.scpf. Unfortunately, it doesn't load this file even if i restart SSMS. It still has the default filter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group