Red Gate forums :: View topic - can i ignore certain db objects?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 2
SQL Source Control 2 forum

can i ignore certain db objects?

Search in SQL Source Control 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
bradtoast



Joined: 19 May 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2011 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forgot to add that this is one of a few things that caused us to go with DB Projects in VS 2010 rather than Red-Gate SQL Source Control at this time. Of course there are a few other things related to Circular Reference (Multiple Databases that all have Synonyms that reference each other) that has even been difficult to overcome on VS. If I get some time I will try and document all the issues we have ran into and the workarounds we came up with to overcome those hurdles. I would love to use SQL Source Control instead, but it's just not quite there for our complex needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2011 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@bradtoast - I've added you to the list. Regarding supporting variables, it's something we're actively considering. We're thinking hard about the possibility of supporting the database project as a back end, which would mean also supporting features such as variable substitution. However, we don't have any hard dates just yet. We'll keep you informed now that you're on the list. Please feel free to ask any further questions.

Kind regards,

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davec



Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:31 am    Post subject: Replicated databases and source control Reply with quote

Hi,

We have a replicated database bound to source control and are running into a similar problem by not being able to exclude the replication elements that are created dynamically for each instance.

We have 3 different development sql servers in 3 different companies all using the same database schema through TFS and Redgate source control.
It's not going well at the moment.

Are there any tricks you can share for when you bind a replicated database to source control?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2011 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Source controlling replicated databases may be problematic. Which flavor of replication are you using? Could you post an example of the replicated objects that are problematic?

David Atkinson
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davec



Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi David,

We are doing merge replication and the objects that are giving us grief are all the triggers, etc that include a GUID supplied by the server when replication is turned on.

i.e.
create trigger [MSmerge_del_6B0A0FF8ADDE416C9BF3853E8769F39A] on [server].[dbo].[tablename] FOR DELETE AS
declare @is_mergeagent bit, @at_publisher bit, @retcode smallint

Replication also adds constraints, indexes and statistics. These also need to be filtered out for a replicated database to be bound to source control when shared.


Last edited by davec on Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried the Ignore Replication Triggers option in SQL Compare?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davec



Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But this issue is with SQL Source Control...

Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah... sorry, my bad. You're right.

We're hoping to add the SQL Compare options to SQL Source Control at some point. We don't have any precise details right now, but we'll respond to this thread when we've done the work.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davec



Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have any recommendations on how to deal with replicated databases in source control in the mean time?

Should we have one database that isn't replicated and bind that to source control, and have another replicated database that isn't bound to source control. Than keep the unbound db up to date using SQL Compare...

Is that the best we can do for now?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect that you're right and you simply have to not have replication in source control as you suggest.

I'd appreciate it if you could try this out and let us know if this is a viable workaround, as it's not the first time we've been asked this!

Many thanks,

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group