Red Gate forums :: View topic - Dynamic vs Static Data in source control
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 2
SQL Source Control 2 forum

Dynamic vs Static Data in source control

Search in SQL Source Control 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
robnikkel



Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:21 pm    Post subject: Dynamic vs Static Data in source control Reply with quote

With our application DB, we have a number of required data rows to run the product, however, the data is dynamic in nature. In other words, it's not "lookup" data that does not change. This data is settings and configuration that can be manipulated via our product.

I don't want changes to this data to be tracked and compared all the time. I would only like this data to be changed manually as required. Anyone know of a way to do this with SQL Source Control? The only solution I can think of is to not static link this data and maintain a separate SQL script to create it.

Thanks,

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andy.campbell.smith



Joined: 20 Oct 2011
Posts: 159
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rob,

Your proposed solution (static linking the data and maintaining a separate SQL script) is pretty much what we'd recommend, as there isn't a good way to do this with SQL Source Control. Sorry!
_________________
Andy Campbell Smith

Red Gate Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robnikkel



Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Andy,

That's what I suspected. So, we've decided to workaround this issue using static data linking, but it is not ideal. Here's our proposed solution:

Each dev would have two databases linked to our DB in source control. One for developing our software and mucking around with the database. The other for committing schema, and static data changes. We would never commit anything through the first DB, but rather use the "Get Latest" periodically to reset the DB state to what's in source control. The latter would be used to commit schema/data changes as desired and would essentially serve as a master copy of our source-controlled DB.

I think this will work for us, but it's a bit annoying. Hopefully you will have some improvements in the software down the road to manage data a bit better. If you can think of a better workflow, I'm all ears.

Thanks,

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group