Red Gate forums :: View topic - Command line Azure Sync not working
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare Previous Versions
SQL Compare Previous Versions forum

Command line Azure Sync not working

Search in SQL Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
wesoos



Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:26 pm    Post subject: Command line Azure Sync not working Reply with quote

I have been using SQL Compare 9 for months now to sync an Azure database with a local database for backing up purposes. I use the command line tools to sync the database and then sync the data, in a scheduled task every night.

Obviously recently, within last few days, Azure support broke due to a Azure release. I applied a patch from you guys in another post, which works fine when I use the GUI. But when using the same command line I have been using for months now, it throws the following error when trying to Sync the databases. "User does not have permission to perform this action."

Please help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Linda Hawksworth



Joined: 25 Jun 2007
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The SQL Compare team will take a look to see if they can reproduce this behaviour. In the meantime, have you tried SQL Azure Backup? It has a command line interface. It can be downloaded from:

http://www.red-gate.com/products/dba/sql-azure-backup/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wesoos



Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, actually it is happening in the GUI as well. I am using a SQL server user account to do the synchronization. This account has db_owner role, but for some reason it's not allowing the sync. It registers the databases and does the compare, but throws the error when attempting to sync.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6669

PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've looked at the debugging information you'd sent in and it appears you do not have permission to create a login, so this would have more to do with your role in the "master" database than your actual database role. The Azure dox from Microsoft suggest you need the loginmanager role.

Hope this helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group