Red Gate forums :: View topic - Suggestion: Map objects
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare Previous Versions
SQL Compare Previous Versions forum

Suggestion: Map objects

Search in SQL Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
paulo.morgado



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:36 pm    Post subject: Suggestion: Map objects Reply with quote

In SQL Data Compare I can map owners and objects.

In SQL Compare I can only map owners.

It would be nice to be able to map objects in SQL Compare like it is possible in SQL Data Compare
_________________
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is something we've been hoping to do for a while, but unfortunately it keeps missing the cut. Could you describe the use case in which this would be useful to you?

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
paulo.morgado



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ave an application that has a configuration database (menu items, settings, etc.)

In my development machine my database has a differente schema from the QA (and production) database.

The MyTable in QA is the MyTable view on my machine that joins data from MyTableQA (replica of QA's MyTable) and MyTableLocal (local overrides).

This way, I can keep all APIs (SPs, services, etc.) in sync with QA.

Everytime I need to use my local database, I only have to sync with QA, which SQL Data Compares does nicelly.
_________________
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A workaround would be to compare two views that you create specifically for the comparison. These just need to select from the appropriate tables. As the views would belong to the same schema and have the same name, SQL Compare will map them.

Would this work for you?

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
paulo.morgado



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, because I don't want to compare data - SQL Data Compare does a very good job at that.

I want to compare "equal" tables that just happen to have different names.

Can I map Schema1 in one database to both Schema1 and Schema2 in another? I could live with tables with the same name in another schema.
_________________
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good question. It might work. Please try to map the schemas using the Owner Mapping tab in the Project Configuration dialog and let us know if this doesn't work for you.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
paulo.morgado



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. I would need to map more than one schem on my local database to the same schema on the QA database.
_________________
Paulo Morgado
Portugal
Web Site
Weblog
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wibblemonkey



Joined: 29 Sep 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:29 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

David Atkinson wrote:
This is something we've been hoping to do for a while, but unfortunately it keeps missing the cut. Could you describe the use case in which this would be useful to you?


David,

I think what I describe here might be a valid use case for this functionality:

http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/viewtopic.php?t=14063

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The SQL Compare 9.5 Beta now has table and column mapping. More information here:

http://www.red-gate.com/MessageBoard/viewtopic.php?t=14113

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group