Red Gate forums :: View topic - Verbose logging via command line
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Compare Previous Versions
SQL Compare Previous Versions forum

Verbose logging via command line

Search in SQL Compare Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
jhoerr



Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:17 pm    Post subject: Verbose logging via command line Reply with quote

Hi,

I see that the sync script produced by the /ScriptFile switch includes a PRINT statement for each synchronization step. I'd like to know if its possible to have these statements included in the SQLCompare logging output. My goal is to be able to look at the SQLCompare.exe log and pinpoint where the synchronization failed.

It may be helpful to know that I'm executing SQLCompare from a TeamCity 'Command Line' build step.

My command line is as follows:

SQLCompare.exe
/scr1:<repository>
/server2:<db server>
/db2:<db>
/Sync
/Include:identical
/Report:Report/SchemaDiffReport.html
/ReportType:Interactive
/ScriptFile:Report/SchemaSyncScript.sql
/Force
/Verbose
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 329
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You cannot turn Logging on through the Command Line. But, if you open the UI and turn on Logging through the menu and then run your Command Line command, then logging should hopefully happen.
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhoerr



Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've started the SQL Compare UI, but I don't see anything pertaining to logging via Tools -> Application Options or File -> New Project. Should I be looking elsewhere?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chriskelly



Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 329
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please take a look at this Knowledge Base article which explains how to turn logging on in the UI.

http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content?p=SQL%20Compare&c=all_sql_products%5cknowledgebase%5clogging_and_log_files.htm
_________________
Chris Kelly
Technical Support Engineer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1123
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right that it would be nice to know which command line parameters have been selected when running from the command line. We'll try our best to add this feature for the next release, which will be due out later this year. If you'd like to be on the EA program, we can inform you when the next EA has the feature.

We'll most likely print the additional command line parameters only when /verbose has been selected. Does this sound fair to you?

Kind regards,

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jhoerr



Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi David -- thanks for responding, and sorry for the late reply. I didn't have my profile configured to notify me of responses to my question. :\

Quote:
You're right that it would be nice to know which command line parameters have been selected...


I think there's been a misunderstanding -- I'm not interested in logging which command line parameters have been selected. I'd like the logs to include the step-wise 'PRINT' statement output of the sync script so that when the script throws an error, I can quickly determine at what point in the execution the error occurred. If, as chrisk5 suggests, this can be enabled through the UI, then it seems that it should be configurable via the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jhoerr



Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, chrisk5 -- I enabled Verbose logging as per the KB article but it doesn't appear that the PRINT statements get logged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group