Red Gate forums :: View topic - Change default TFS port
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 2
SQL Source Control 2 forum

Change default TFS port

Search in SQL Source Control 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
philcart



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:30 am    Post subject: Change default TFS port Reply with quote

Our TFS server is setup on port 80, rather than the default of 8080.

How can I change the default port in SSC?

Cheers
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6644

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I don't believe there is a default port setting for TFS that you can set in SQL Source Control. Any web-bsed system will have a default port of 80, which is the Internet standard. Any other port number has to be explicitly included in the repository URL that you link to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philcart



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Brian.

When you link a database, the port shown in the dialog is 8080. If there is no "setting" for it, then it must be hardcoded.

This makes it a bit fiddly as we have to change the port to 80 every time we link a database.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philcart



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So is there no way for this to be changed? Is the port number really hardcoded!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It must be edited from the 8080 default. As soon as you've put the server URL in, the box will ungray and you can type it in. But you'll need to do this each time for now.

How important is this ability for you? Linking a database to source control shouldn't be a frequent task.

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
philcart



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its a pretty sore point at the moment as we're moving from SVN, Bugzilla and non controlled databases, to TFS and SSC. This is just one more item for the devs to be upset about.

We haven't finalised our process for updating developers local databases with fresh data from production. So we're having to restore their local databases at once a day, 2-3 times a day in extreme cases. This means we have to re-link and get latest.

The repeated restores may have upset the workspaces as well, but I'll submit another post about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1120
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What we're hoping to do in a future version is to add an extended property to the database that contains the repository information. This means that relinking to a database shouldn't require the user to put in the repository information again.

I guess we should also make the tool remember the last port number that was used so I'll raise a bug for this (ref SOC-3044).

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
philcart



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philcart



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, this is now breaking the product. Definitely needs some work done on it.

http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39019-sql-source-control/suggestions/2598920-tfs-migration-script-unusable-with-custom-port
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith



Joined: 30 Jun 2011
Posts: 117
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Sorry you are having a problem with this. Can you please confirm if the below workaround works for you?

You should be able to specify a port in the Migration Scripts repository URL field. For instance, to specify port 8081 I would add the following:

"http://my-tfs-2010rtm.mydomain.com:8081/tfs/sqlsourcecontrolcollection";

If you have already connected to a Migration Script location but against the wrong port, you will need to unlink and re-link your database from source control to be able to edit the Migration Script URL.

Sorry this is convoluted, we will look into making this easier in the future.

Best regards,
Chris
_________________
Chris Smith
Project Manager
Deployment Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith



Joined: 30 Jun 2011
Posts: 117
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should have added... if you don't want to unlink and relink the database and are comfortable editing xml files, you should be able to add the port specification to the URL by editing the following file:

C:\Users\[yourusername]\AppData\Local\Red Gate\SQL Source Control 3\LinkedDatabases.xml

You'd need to close SSMS first and then look for the entry for the database you want to change. Then find a node called ServerUrl under the LinkedMigrationsLocation node and add the ":8081".
_________________
Chris Smith
Project Manager
Deployment Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benik9



Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:11 pm    Post subject: Is this fixed in SQL Source Control 3? Reply with quote

Is this fixed in SQL Source Control 3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group