Red Gate forums :: View topic - SQL Prompt v3.6 & SSMS 2008 R2
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt Previous Versions
SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum

SQL Prompt v3.6 & SSMS 2008 R2

Search in SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
downatone



Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:11 pm    Post subject: SQL Prompt v3.6 & SSMS 2008 R2 Reply with quote

Hi there,

I just installed SSMS 2008 R2 on a new box and have a couple licenses left for SQL Prompt v3.6 that our company bought a year or so ago. For some reason when I install it - it doesn't appear as a menu item in SSMS. My previous computer has SSMS 2008 R2 and SQL Prompt v3.6 installed and its working just fine. Is there anything obvious that I should be looking for?

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6649

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just checked the release history and found that you need at least SQL Prompt 3.8 to use it with SQL Server 2008 Management Studio. 3.6, I believe, would work if you hacked around with your computer's registry but I don't recommend that.

Try this one: http://downloads.red-gate.com/checkforupdates/SQLPrompt/SQL%20Prompt_3.9.0.43.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
downatone



Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Brian - that did the trick - didn't realize my serial # would be valid for version higher than 3.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A serial will always allow you to use any point release - so if you're using 3.6 you'd be fine with 3.9 for instance. It's only relevant when it comes to major releases (i.e. 3.x > 4.x) whereupon you'd then need a support&upgrades bolt-on for the serial number to get a free upgrade.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
downatone



Joined: 18 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the response James.

Whats a support&upgrades bolt-on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.billings



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: My desk.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you originally purchased the product, you could have taken out support and upgrades with it (this is often for 1 year, 3 years etc).

If this is purchased, then your support queries are handled at a higher priority, and you are entitled to upgrades for free until your support contract expires.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group