Red Gate forums :: View topic - Where to manage smartassembly dependency search paths?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 6
SmartAssembly 6 forum

Where to manage smartassembly dependency search paths?

Search in SmartAssembly 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
fostandy



Joined: 18 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:50 am    Post subject: Where to manage smartassembly dependency search paths? Reply with quote

Hi,

Having just been badly burned by smartassembly finding and using some old dependency's for my project, I am now trying to understand how to control where smartassembly searches for these.

The only way I have figured out how to list the folders it searches has been to delete my libraries and get smartassembly to throw up an error on project load that basically says it could not locate a dependency and it has searched in X,Y,Z locations.

How do I view, control and define these locations? There are some links to some old libraries I would like to delete. I get the impression these are stored in some global space as there are some paths it is searching which should only belong to other projects (this is very annoying).

I have read the documentation here http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content?p=SmartAssembly&c=SmartAssembly%5Chelp%5C6.0%5CSA_SearchingForDependencies.htm but smartassembly appears to be searching in areas which do not fall under either of the 3 categories. Nor am I using any MandatoryPath directives in my .saproj file. Is there any further documentation?

I could have sworn I saw something to do this from the ui some time ago (back in v5 or earlier?) but I cannot seem to find it now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james.davies



Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:25 pm    Post subject: Control Dependency Location Reply with quote

You can give your DLLs strong names to prevent confusion.

To view and control dependencies:
Open SmartAssembly.settings using notepad.
You can find this in the program folder or in
c:\programdata\red gate\SmartAssembly

You can add <SearchPath> nodes in the <DependenciesSearchPaths> parent node.
_________________
Thanks,
James Davies
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fostandy



Joined: 18 Apr 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks James, I had been looking in Program Files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wout



Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

In my search path it has Silverlight 4, but it is picking up Silverlight 5 dlls instead. Seems to be a bug (using SmartAssembly 6.1, Have both Silverlight 4 and Silverlight 5 beta installed).

<DependenciesSearchPaths>
<SearchPath>C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\Silverlight\v4.0</SearchPath>
</DependenciesSearchPaths>

How can it find the Silverlight 5 dll's? They are in C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\Silverlight\v5.0, and I didn't specify that they were there.

I just tried using the assembly MandatoryPath xml feature, but it's still picking up the SL 5 assemblies:

<Assembly AssemblyName="mscorlib" MandatoryPath="C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\Silverlight\v4.0\mscorlib.dll">
<Merging />
</Assembly>
<Assembly AssemblyName="System" MandatoryPath="C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\Silverlight\v4.0\System.dll">
<Merging />
</Assembly>
<Assembly AssemblyName="System.Windows" MandatoryPath="C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\Silverlight\v4.0\System.Windows.dll">
<Merging />
</Assembly>


- Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris.Allen



Joined: 12 Mar 2009
Posts: 585

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>>How can it find the Silverlight 5 dll's?

My guess is that it picks them up since they are in the GAC- is that possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wout



Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, they are not in the GAC. Either way it is incorrect behavior to randomly switch references.

- Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wout



Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also submitted a support request for this: F0049951. No need to further discuss it here I guess. I'll post about if the solution works once it's done.

- Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group