Red Gate forums :: View topic - Conditionally built objects and static data from a master
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 2
SQL Source Control 2 forum

Conditionally built objects and static data from a master

Search in SQL Source Control 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
cmaslen



Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 9:20 am    Post subject: Conditionally built objects and static data from a master Reply with quote

Hi,

We have a couple of related scenarios where we'd like to maintain different versions of source controlled objects.

The first scenario is static data. For development we have a set of static data that is only appropriate for a local environment but not for test or production. An example here is environment specific configuration data that resides in the database. Another example is some test data that could be under source control for automated integration tests.

The other scenario is database objects. In our case we develop a platform product that uses some core tables. We also develop applications for the platform that have their own tables. We would like to build a database from source control for a given application or combination of applications depending on factors such as what the client has installed or what the developer is supporting.

Thanks in advance,
Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sian.Williams



Joined: 26 Aug 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 11:24 am    Post subject: Conditionally built objects and static data from a master Reply with quote

Many thanks for your suggestions, I think they are reasonable however I don't believe they've been requested yet.

It would be great if you could add them to our uservoice site, where other users can vote for them to be added in the future.

http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39019-sql-source-control

Thanks
_________________
--------------------------------------
Siān Williams
Red Gate Software
Tel: 0800 169 7433
sian.williams@red-gate.com
--------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1122
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Conditionally built objects and static data from a master Reply with quote

cmaslen wrote:
Hi,
The other scenario is database objects. In our case we develop a platform product that uses some core tables. We also develop applications for the platform that have their own tables. We would like to build a database from source control for a given application or combination of applications depending on factors such as what the client has installed or what the developer is supporting.

Thanks in advance,
Christian


Christian,

SQL Compare has a filter feature that lets you specify at a very granular level which objects to consider. Would it work for you to save a SQL Compare project for each client to use as the deployment mechanism?

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1122
Location: Twitter: @dtabase

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Conditionally built objects and static data from a master Reply with quote

cmaslen wrote:
For development we have a set of static data that is only appropriate for a local environment but not for test or production. An example here is environment specific configuration data that resides in the database. Another example is some test data that could be under source control for automated integration tests.


Regarding this issue, it's actually one that our internal web team also have. They solve this using this automated process.

- 'gett' the scripts folder to a temporary folder using their source control command line
- sync the static data folder to their integration database using sqldatacompare.exe
- copy a 'test data' scripts folder on top of the temporary scripts folder
- sync the test data folder to their integration database using sqldatacompare.exe

That's pretty much it.

Using this technique you can have as many test data folders as you like, representing different clients or test scenarios.

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group