Red Gate forums :: View topic - How to unlink data on new database
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 2
SQL Source Control 2 forum

How to unlink data on new database

Search in SQL Source Control 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
GilbertLiddell



Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:31 am    Post subject: How to unlink data on new database Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a database under source control in TFS. I use this as my main database for development, all changes are made to this database and checked in. I also have checked in my "base" data from this database.

I now want a second database, this will be the database that I run unit tests against. I want to link this database to the same database under source control above but when I check-out, I only want to get the schema, not the data.

Currently, when I link the test database and de-select the data for that table, it automatically de-selects the table as well.

How can I choose to checkout a schema from the database under source control without taking the data? Is there maybe a command line tool or have I missed something Sad

Thanks in advance for your help.
Gilbert.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter.peart
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Top floor, RG towers with the cool kids

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,

Thanks for your post. At the present time, this isn't possible, however I've raised it as an enhancement in our systems under an internal tracking number of SOC-2489. This will definitely be considered for future releases of the tool so watch this space!

Pete
_________________
Peter Peart
Red Gate Software Ltd
+44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1112

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The SQL Compare Pro command line can be used to build up a database from a source controlled scripts folder for the purposes of running automated unit tests. SQL Compare will pull the schema component and SQL Data Compare will pull the data component, allowing you to treat them separately. There is a paper that describes how to set up continuous integration:

http://downloads.red-gate.com/HelpPDF/ContinuousIntegrationForDatabasesUsingRedGateSQLTools.pdf

Please use this approach to build a test database and if for whatever reason it doesn't work for you, let us know!

Kind regards,

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group