Red Gate forums :: View topic - Strange problem. Cannot put breakpoint in my code
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
.NET Reflector 7.0 Feedback
.NET Reflector 7.0 Feedback forum

Strange problem. Cannot put breakpoint in my code

Search in .NET Reflector 7.0 Feedback forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
omheien



Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:26 am    Post subject: Strange problem. Cannot put breakpoint in my code Reply with quote

Hi all
I am not able to put breakpoints in one of my projects in a larger solution. I have searched the WEB for similar problems but nothing that helps. I have set the project to Debug, removed the "Optimize code" switch etc.

Then it hit me. What is different from the time I could put a breakpoint and now? I have installed RedGate Reflector 7. Allso, I have run the tool to let med dig into the framework with the debugger

Is there a bug in Reflector 7 perhaps that mix up something.

Please, I nead some help here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Bart Read



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,


Are you using Visual Studio 2010? I had exactly the same problem the other day, although it wasn't anything to do with Reflector because I didn't have the add-in installed at the time. I found that all breakpoints were being ignored, even though Visual Studio wasn't displaying any warnings about them - it didn't matter where I set them. Restarting Visual Studio seemed to fix the problem, although I've still no idea what caused it in the first place, other than VS seemed to be having a funny five minutes.


HTH,


Bart
_________________
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omheien



Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:38 pm    Post subject: well... Reply with quote

I was allso hoping this was not a Reflector situation, but I have restarted my computer many times now, same problem.

I can copy the project to my lappy and the problem goes away. This lappy has Reflector 6.5.0.135 and no addin installed in VS2010 (Yes, its VS 2010)

So then I'm back to my workstation with the problem. The only thing I can think of that is installed just before the problem started is the Reflector 7

Any other help would be appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Bart Read



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for getting back to me. I'm still baffled as to what's causing the problem, but one simple diagnostic is: can you set breakpoints again once you've uninstalled Reflector 7? I'd also double-check that there are no Reflector 6.x add-ins installed.

On a slightly different tack, do you have any other VS add-ins installed? I wonder if there might be some odd interaction between Reflector and another add-in. There's nothing I'm aware of that should cause a problem, but it's possible there may be something like that happening.

I'd also suggest, if you're not already using it, the 7.0.1.1 patch release, which you can get from from http://shop.reflector.net/download.

One final question: which edition of VS 2010 are you using? Again, I'm not aware of any problems with specific editions, other than we don't support VS Express, but it might be helpful to know.


Thanks,


Bart
_________________
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bart Read



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really am clutching at straws here...

You don't say what kind of projects are in your solution, but this wouldn't be the problem, would it?

http://forums.asp.net/t/1532854.aspx

Also, are you seeing the "The Breakpoint will not currently be hit: No symbols have been loaded ... " warning message for breakpoints you do set?


Thanks,


Bart
_________________
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bart Read



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One final question: which OS version and bitness are you running?
_________________
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omheien



Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just remembered what the last thing I did just before this happend:
I red that I could let Reflector create some sort of layer over the framework letting me run the debugger through the .net framework. Can it be somethign in there ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
omheien



Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I uninstalled Reflector and now the problem vannished. I have re installed Reflector and problem is still gone. I wil not try to regenerate the framework layer to be able to run the debugger through the framework. I suspoect that this was the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Bart Read



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,


Sorry for not responding earlier. Thanks for getting back to me. I'm glad the problem seems to have gone away.

Obviously if you don't regenerate assemblies, it's not possible to debug into them. Perhaps it would be worth trying to regenerate just one of the framework assemblies you use in your solution, and then see if the problem comes back or not? I'd really appreciate knowing what happens.


Many thanks,


Bart
_________________
Bart Read
Principal Consultant
bartread.com Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group