Red Gate forums :: View topic - Debug not setpping in reflector's decompiled assemblies
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
.Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro
.Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro forum

Debug not setpping in reflector's decompiled assemblies

Search in .Net Reflector 6.x and .NET Reflector 6.x Pro forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
francofs



Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:28 pm    Post subject: Debug not setpping in reflector's decompiled assemblies Reply with quote

Hi, I've been trying to step through the code of come .net controls by using .net reflector decompilation. The problem is that I set the breakpoint to the libraries but it never reaches/stops there, not even on class constructors.
And I verified that it corresponds to loaded symbols, so no the breakpoint red circle is not outlined only.

I'm using Reflector with VS 2008, .net framework 3.5, all service packed.

I appreciate any help.
Regards,
Fábio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clive Tong



Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

If you stop in the debugger and look in the modules window, do you see that a pdb file has been loaded (using the symbol status and the symbols loaded columns)?

Are the breakpoints definitely set - are there red filled circles next to the relevant lines of source?

Do you have a reproducible example we could try?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
francofs



Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I mentioned, it's not an outlined circle, it's a filled circle. But I already solved the problem and I think you guys from redgate should take note to alert users for common "Oh my god you're stupid" problems.

The problem was that Visual Studio crashed while I was out for a few minutes, then when I restarted it I noticed that all the assemblies were browsable and were decompiled. The problem is that, whe VS crashed, a few items got unchecked from "Choose assemblies to debug..." and a few were not, so I got some random behaviour and forgot to check the items checked there and I wrongly assumed that if I could browse the libraries, they were available for debug.

Thanks for the help.
Regards,
Fábio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group