Red Gate forums :: View topic - Import exception reports?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 5
SmartAssembly 5 forum

Import exception reports?

Search in SmartAssembly 5 forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:51 pm    Post subject: Import exception reports? Reply with quote

How can I import exception reports into another machine when I had to deactivate SA on the creating one?
And how can I receive future exception reports when the creating machine is deactivated?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6649

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You can move the SmartAssembly data files to the new computer after installing SmartAssembly on it. Just copy everything from %programdata%\red gate\smartassembly. The full story can be found in the product help. For instance there are other things you may need to do if you have a team of developers sharing the data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying that now. But first: the %programdata%\red gate\smartassembly folder on my old machine is empty, all the files are instead in the program installation folder. This was a default installation, the maps path was never changed. This might be the result of upgrading from previous versions.

Tried, and not really working. When I try to open the saved exception reports (*.saencryptedreport) I get either "The report is not present in the selected database" followed by an exception or I get "The report is not associated with an valid project ID".

I didnt yet get any new reports to download, lets see how that will work out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6649

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

When SA was first created, it was pre-Vista, so it says the SA files are in the program files folder. Vista and 7 automatically redirect this to the programdata folder. Just to make sure, you are installing and overwriting the files? Plus, I think SA uses the SA assembly FullName as the basis for some sort of database access token, so the version of SA you have installed on the new computer will need to match the version on the old computer exactly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had upgraded the old machine to 5.5, which is whats running on the new one too.
Though I did copy the files to the location of the existing database on the new machine, which was %programdata%... and no longer in programfiles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the feeling that exception reports needs some rethinking how it works. It is really targeted to single-machine scenarios, with no recovery or backup functionality, though I am tempted to try using SQL as backend, which seems to offer a bit more freedom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6649

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use SQL Server instead and host the samap files on a share. That's how we use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, I will give it a try, but for now it wont solve my problem with the reports from the other machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group