Red Gate forums :: View topic - Do we need the SmartAssembly references?
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 5
SmartAssembly 5 forum

Do we need the SmartAssembly references?

Search in SmartAssembly 5 forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:14 pm    Post subject: Do we need the SmartAssembly references? Reply with quote

I just noticed that new projects created with SA 5.5 have a bunch of new assembly references (like {smartassembly}.MemoryManagement, SmartAssembly.HouseOfCards, etc)...

Are those required? What about old project files without them?
Can you shed some light on this please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
nick.maidment



Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These seem to largely be added when using the error reporting (and using the error reporting with the sdk). Have you noticed any occurences when not using this feature? I'll be looking into this further to see if any more information can be gathered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I DO use automatic reporting but no SDK at all. Just tested it and it seems to add them only when using the error reporting feature.
Though old projects without those references seem to work the same. So do we need them Confused ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
nick.maidment



Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In general you shouldn't be seeing {smartassembly}.MemoryManagement, SmartAssembly.HouseOfCards, I'm not totally sure why you're seeing these.

You will need SmartExceptionsCore as this is the code that actually compiles and sends in the error report. If SA is adding things to your project, it's likely that they're necessary.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uniwares_AS



Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I remove those references and build it on the commandline, the assembly seems to work just the same and there are no build errors either. So my guess is that those "new" *smartassembly* references are not absolutely needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group