Red Gate forums :: View topic - Browse button unvisible
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Source Control 1
SQL Source Control 1 forum

Browse button unvisible

Search in SQL Source Control 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
kevger



Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 11:53 am    Post subject: Browse button unvisible Reply with quote

With certain pc's here when linking a database we don't get the option to browse into the TFS directory.
The button is invisible, always have to enter this manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sherr



Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 125
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:00 pm    Post subject: TFS Browse Button Reply with quote

Hello,

The TFS browse button is available if you have Visual Studio 2008 Team Explorer installed on the same machine SQL Source Control is installed.

Unfortunately, TFS 2010 changed its API, so you will not see the browse button if you are using Visual Studio 2010, which includes Team Explorer 2010.

This may explain why you see the browse button on some machines, but not others.

We are tracking requests for this functionality on our Suggestion Forum at
http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39019-sql-source-control/suggestions/539431-browse-to-a-svn-repository-or-tfs-2010-server-inst and we do hope to improve the initial linking in a future release to both browse and create folders when you link (http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39019-sql-source-control/suggestions/619767-ability-to-create-a-new-folder-in-svn-or-tfs-when-) instead of having to type it in manually.
_________________
Thank you!
Stephanie M. Herr Smile
Delivery Product Manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevger



Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:07 am    Post subject: Re: TFS Browse Button Reply with quote

sherr wrote:
Hello,

The TFS browse button is available if you have Visual Studio 2008 Team Explorer installed on the same machine SQL Source Control is installed.

Unfortunately, TFS 2010 changed its API, so you will not see the browse button if you are using Visual Studio 2010, which includes Team Explorer 2010.

This may explain why you see the browse button on some machines, but not others.

We are tracking requests for this functionality on our Suggestion Forum at
http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39019-sql-source-control/suggestions/539431-browse-to-a-svn-repository-or-tfs-2010-server-inst and we do hope to improve the initial linking in a future release to both browse and create folders when you link (http://redgate.uservoice.com/forums/39019-sql-source-control/suggestions/619767-ability-to-create-a-new-folder-in-svn-or-tfs-when-) instead of having to type it in manually.


Well we are using VS2008 on all pc's. So that's not the reason. Also getting this on different OS 1 laptop on windows xp and an other on windows 7. Also the windows 7 is the exactly the same as mine. And I've got no problem. also others with the same configuration have no problems.

Kevin

[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group