Red Gate forums :: View topic - Always get timeout trying to add backup file
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Virtual Restore 2
SQL Virtual Restore 2 forum

Always get timeout trying to add backup file

Search in SQL Virtual Restore 2 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
broughtie



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 4:04 pm    Post subject: Always get timeout trying to add backup file Reply with quote

On two different computers now, I've installed and tried to use the latest version of virtual restore and every time I try to add my 36GB, non-encrypted .sqb file in step 2, all I get is an error: "Timeout expired. The timeout period elapsed prior to completion of the operation or the server is not responding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: time out Reply with quote

I having the same issue. In my particular case, I think the problem is that we are using a backup that was created with mirroring. Looks like it does not support those kind of backups. This is the error message I am getting when running the script manually:

Msg 3132, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
The media set has 3 media families but only 1 are provided. All members must be provided.
Msg 3013, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.

Notice that I am using SQL Backup Pro without encryption, but using the MIRROR option to backup simultaneously to two different locations.
The restore using SQL Backup Pro works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:14 pm    Post subject: Re: time out Reply with quote

ivanrdgz wrote:
I having the same issue. In my particular case, I think the problem is that we are using a backup that was created with mirroring. Looks like it does not support those kind of backups. This is the error message I am getting when running the script manually:

Msg 3132, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
The media set has 3 media families but only 1 are provided. All members must be provided.
Msg 3013, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.

Notice that I am using SQL Backup Pro without encryption, but using the MIRROR option to backup simultaneously to two different locations.
The restore using SQL Backup Pro works fine.


I think I found what the issue is. It has to do not with the mirror option but by the "Use multiple threads" option of the SQL Backup Pro. In my case (by default) it says Number of threads 3. So when restoring you have to indicate 3 times the same source file name, for example like this:

Code:

RESTORE DATABASE [DB_test_Virtual]
FROM
   DISK='C:\TEST\FULL_(local)_DB_test_20100813_120354.sqb',
   DISK='C:\TEST\FULL_(local)_DB_test_20100813_120354.sqb',
   DISK='C:\TEST\FULL_(local)_DB_test_20100813_120354.sqb'
WITH
   MOVE 'DB_test_Data' TO 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Data\DB_test_Data_DB_test_Virtual.vmdf',
   MOVE 'DB_test_Log' TO 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL10_50.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Data\DB_test_Log_DB_test_Virtual.vldf',
   NORECOVERY, stats
GO

RESTORE DATABASE [DB_test_Virtual] WITH RECOVERY
GO


Red Gate please fix this on the Virtual Restore GUI !!! It is confusing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liwp



Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ivanrdgz,

I'm glad you've found a workaround for the time being. We're looking into the issue and hope to have a fix soon.

-- Lauri
_________________
Software Engineer, DBA Tools Division, Red Gate Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:54 pm    Post subject: Now what?!!!! Reply with quote

I have a 95GB RedGate sql backup (.sqb), I was trying to "virtually" restore it into my desktop. The C: drive has 51GB of free space. This is the error message I am getting:

Code:
Msg 3257, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
There is insufficient free space on disk volume 'C:\' to create the database. The database requires 329782460416 additional free bytes, while only 55273664512 bytes are available.
Msg 3119, Level 16, State 4, Line 1
Problems were identified while planning for the RESTORE statement. Previous messages provide details.
Msg 3013, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.


My understanding (from your advertisements) is that I don't need to have the original database space available for the virtual restore. Please advice.

[/quote][/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javen



Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

You can virtually restore a database to a system which would not otherwise have the space to do so. You do this by setting a parameter in the HyperBac config file (hyperbac.conf). Below is an excerpt from the HyperBac Online documentation (this information is getting merged into the new Red Gate documentation):


Quote:
NOTE: It is possible to restore a database to a volume which does not have the physical space to create the data and log devices in their uncompressed size using HyperBac Online (which is otherwise not possible by any other means). To do this open the HyperBac Configuration File located in the HyperBac\bin directory (hyperbac.conf) with notepad, at the end of the file add the following line, save the file and restart the HyperBac Control Service:

VirtualDiskSize=1000

The value specified represents the target size for all volumes in GB, in the above example all DASD volumes would have a logical size of 1TB, even if the physical size is less. This is only used for SQL Server during the restore process and does not have any other effect on the system. This value can be set to whatever is necessary to accommodate the uncompressed size of the data and log devices.


Hope this helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I added the VirtualDiskSize=1000 to the configuration file. Tried again and got the following error:

Quote:
Msg 3183, Level 16, State 2, Line 1
RESTORE detected an error on page (0:0) in database "TESTDB_Virtual" as read from the backup set.
Msg 3013, Level 16, State 1, Line 1
RESTORE DATABASE is terminating abnormally.


The backup file is on a shared drive on one of our SANs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
broughtie



Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Update? Reply with quote

liwp wrote:
Hi ivanrdgz,

I'm glad you've found a workaround for the time being. We're looking into the issue and hope to have a fix soon.

-- Lauri



Any update Lauri?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liwp



Joined: 16 Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:38 am    Post subject: New SQL Virtual Restore release Reply with quote

Hi broughtie and ivanrdgz,

I'm sorry for the radio silence - we've been hard at work in developing SQL Virtual Restore 2.1.

The new version has been released today (23 Sep) and it should address all the issues raised in this thread (timeouts and VirtualDiskSize) among other usability improvements.

You can download the latest version from here.

-- Lauri
_________________
Software Engineer, DBA Tools Division, Red Gate Ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group