Red Gate forums :: View topic - Marking assembly as released
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SmartAssembly 5
SmartAssembly 5 forum

Marking assembly as released

Search in SmartAssembly 5 forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
Ed



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:19 pm    Post subject: Marking assembly as released Reply with quote

I build both debug and release versions on our build server via continuous integration. When we want to release, we take the last good build, test it and then release it.

How do I after the fact MarkAsReleased the build?
OR
Do I MarkAsReleased every build but then how do I delete the the builds that are not required?
_________________
_Ed_
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slaphead99



Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a quick suggestion - when you select the build that will be a release version you may wish to use the command line and the /markasreleased switch. You can use this as an automatic post-build step for your release configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ed



Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never build a version targeted for a release. Instead, we build a release version on each build. When I have to do a release, I pick the last successful build, run validation tests, and then release it to the customer. At this point I mark our build as retain indefinitely and need to mark the obfuscation as released.

I need to understand how this decryption is managed and be able to see that the decryption information is available. I will hate to be in a position where I am trying to solve a customer problem and cannot decode a stack trace.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alex.Davies



Joined: 02 Dec 2008
Posts: 335
Location: Cambridge, uk

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I prefer to mark all builds as released, and keep all maps, as storage space is cheap.

Otherwise, you can mark as released afterwards manually, as slaphead99 says, from the command line.

Things which are not marked as released are only deleted if they receive no new reports for 2 weeks, so if you have a relatively high volume of exception reports, and check often enough (I use a scheduled task every day) they usually get kept when they're needed anyway.
_________________
Alex
Developer,
Red Gate .NET Tools
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul.Martin



Joined: 03 Feb 2010
Posts: 83
Location: Cambridgeshire

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you are about to send out a release just run the command line version of SmartAssembly (SmartAssembly.com) with the switch /markasrelease and the parameter the path of the assembly you are about to release.
e.g.
SmartAssembly.com /markasrelease MyExeFile.exe

There is more information about the command line version in our support pages.

Note 1:
Information not marked "as release" is deleted if it is not accessed (i.e. exceptions reported) for 15 days. This is configurable, so if you know that it will take longer than 15 days between building your application and marking it for release then you should extend the time. In the SmartAssembly.settings file (which will either be where you have installed SmartAssembly on XP or in "C:\ProgramData\Red Gate\SmartAssembly 5\" on Vista / Win 7) in the "Options" section change or add a "Maps" node with the attribute ObsoleteAfterNDays="x" where x is the number of days.
e.g.
Code:

<SmartAssembly.Settings>
    ....
    <Options>
        ....
        <Maps ObsoleteAfterNDays="30" />
    </Options>
</SmartAssembly.Settings>



Note 2:
This is only relevant if you are using the Error Reporting feature of SmartAssembly, if you are using the ASCII encoding to use the more traditional Stack Trace Decode feature you don't need to worry about this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group