Red Gate forums :: View topic - Error when comparing databases
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
Schema Compare for Oracle Beta
Schema Compare for Oracle Beta forum

Error when comparing databases

Search in Schema Compare for Oracle Beta forum
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Jump to:  
Author Message
jspibey



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:21 pm    Post subject: Error when comparing databases Reply with quote

I'm comparing two schemas on the same database server. The server is running Oracle 10.1.0.3.0, the client is Windows 7 x64.

I am connecting to the database using a 'Manual Connection' using the same username and password for both source and target.

After pressing 'Compare now' I get an error after a few seconds (During the 'Reading object dependencies' phase which states ORA-03113: end of file on communication channel

Any ideas what might be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alice.easey



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 93
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Thanks for your post.

We've just released a new build that includes a 'direct connection' option that connects via TCP/IP instead of through the Oracle client.

The option is in the Application Options, called "Use direct connection".

Can you give it a try and let us know if it helps with the ORA-03113?

Thanks,

Alice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jspibey



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I gave that a try and I get a little further but I still get an error

ORA-00904: "P"."OBJECT_TYPE": invalid identifier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alice.easey



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 93
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To help us track down what's going on, can you turn on logging and send us the log file?

This help file explains how to turn on logging:
http://www.red-gate.com/supportcenter/Content.aspx?p=SQL%20Compare&c=SQL_Data_Compare\knowledgebase\logging_and_log_files.htm

If you send the log to me at alice.easey@red-gate.com, that'd be great.

Thanks,

Alice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jspibey



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've sent you the log file via email

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jspibey



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1.0.0.475 - I only downloaded it an hour or two ago but it was an upgrade of a previous version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alice.easey



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 93
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for sending the logs across.

We've identified the issue as being a problem with the way we're handling PL/SQL objects in dependent schemas not included for comparison.

We've got a fix for this that will be in the next EAP build (unfortunately we don't have any timescales for that yet).

In the meantime, a workaround would be to make sure your comparison includes all the schemas that are referenced by the objects you want to compare (so, if you're comparing a table in SchemaA that references a procedure in SchemaB, make sure you include SchemaB for comparison).

Hopefully that should fix the problem - please let us know if it doesn't or if you have any other feedback for us.

Thanks,

Alice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jspibey



Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick reply. I tried adding in the other schemas which were referenced but couldn't get any further. I'll wait for the next build before I look at it again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcossio



Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Colombia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here with "P"."OBJECT_TYPE". Will also wait for the newest build to see if we can come across. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michelle Taylor



Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 528
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jcossio - is 'P' an actual schema in your database, or a synonym for that schema?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcossio



Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Colombia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We do not have a schema or synonym called P on our database. It would be strange if I had the same stuff as jspibey that also pointed out this same issue ("P"."OBJECT_TYPE") at the beginning of this thread.
Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alice.easey



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 93
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've just released our new early access build.

We've made a lot of improvements around dependencies and general stability, and would hugely appreciate it if you could give it a try and let us know if it resolves your issues.

You can download the new build here.

Thanks,

Alice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcossio



Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Colombia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gave it a try and got an error on the fourth step "Comparing Databases". it says "An item with the same key has already been added." and aborts the process. Logs have been sent to Alice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alice.easey



Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 93
Location: Red Gate

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've tracked this down to an error registering the WMSYS schema which we've fixed in the latest build (1.0.0.681).

Can you give this new build a try and let us know if it fixes the problem?

Thanks,

Alice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group