Red Gate forums :: View topic - Repository IP Address Issue
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Response 1
SQL Response 1 forum

Repository IP Address Issue

Search in SQL Response 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
dylanfinney



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:00 pm    Post subject: Repository IP Address Issue Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm having a strange issue where I cannot connect to my running repository. The service is running and I installed the client on the machine and verified that I could connect locally, however across the network did not work.

After attempting to connect again I got the error message saying that it could not connect to the machine, however the IP address it was using was incorrect. So after I manually put in the IP address into the text box labeled "Server where Alert Repository is installed:", it failed again saying it couldn't connect to the incorrect IP again! It wasn't even trying the IP that I put in the text box! What's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dylanfinney



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Images are worth a thousand words, here's a screen cap.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you confirm that the public card, i.e. the one that you are trying to connect to, is the top binding card.

To find this, go to the machine that the alert repository is on and go to Network Connecitons > Advanced (along top menu bar) > Advanced Settings.

SQL Response automatically looks for the top card, therefore if the card that you are connecting to isn't at the top then you will have issues.

I hope this helps.
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dylanfinney



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, that fixed it. Maybe we can add to the list of changes for 2.0 that it will connect to the IP that resolves or the IP given instead of doing it's own thinking on the subject Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rlanard



Joined: 13 Jan 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have other services that are dependent on binding order, you can stop the service, change the binding order, start the service again then change the binding order back. everytime you reboot Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group