Red Gate forums :: View topic - Enhancement Request
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Multi Script 1
SQL Multi Script 1 forum

Enhancement Request

Search in SQL Multi Script 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
padwin



Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Texas, US

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:34 pm    Post subject: Enhancement Request Reply with quote

I would like to see a feature when in Multi Script you can create a job and schedule it to run like a Sql job but that runs thru Multi script.

For example: I'm querying 30 servers with Multi script and I want to schedule a job to execute this script and give me one file like it does in Multi script. Vs. Me, scripting a SQL job to run at the 30 servers and will give me 30 files when I just want one file. Wink Razz Laughing

This would make Multi Script even better utility for DBAs to use.
_________________
Padwin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter.peart
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Top floor, RG towers with the cool kids

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Padwin,

I can certainly add this as a feature request in our systems, however how would you like to see this implemented?

Many thanks!

Pete
_________________
Peter Peart
Red Gate Software Ltd
+44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
padwin



Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Location: Texas, US

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Enhancement Request Reply with quote

I would certainly wold like this implemented as an option in Multi-script. Just as a Job agent that will in some way create a Task Scheduler type process where it will execute when scheduled.
Kind of like, SQL Jobs or like mentioned previously Task Scheduler.

Or perhaps maybe have an option to use Multi-script thru command line where we can create a batch file to give us the results.
Currently I use MassQuery in that way. Idea
_________________
Padwin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peter.peart
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Top floor, RG towers with the cool kids

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Padwin,

I was thinking command line, but didn't want to influence you towards that Smile

It isn't currently possible, but I have added it as a feature request for you with tracking number SE-643. I am sure it will be reviewed by the product management team for a future release of the tool.

Pete
_________________
Peter Peart
Red Gate Software Ltd
+44 (0)870 160 0037 ext. 8569
1 866 RED GATE ext. 8569
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group