Red Gate forums :: View topic - The value '' cannot be inserted into column IctHeaderId Erro
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Generator 1
SQL Data Generator 1 forum

The value '' cannot be inserted into column IctHeaderId Erro

Search in SQL Data Generator 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
aharbath



Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:49 pm    Post subject: The value '' cannot be inserted into column IctHeaderId Erro Reply with quote

I am evaluating the Data Generator tool and I am getting this error when with one of the tables I am loading. Any ideas on why this is appearing. Additional details are below:

The value '' cannot be inserted into column IctHeaderId
RedGate.SQLDataGenerator.Engine.DataGeneration.InvalidColumnDataException: The value '' cannot be inserted
into column IctHeaderId at u.c() at u.Read() at
RedGate.SQLDataGenerator.Engine.DataGeneration.TypeTranslationDataReader.Read() at
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlBulkCopy.ReadFromRowSource() at
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlBulkCopy.WriteToServerInternal() at
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlBulkCopy.WriteRowSourceToServer(Int32 columnCount) at
System.Data.SqlClient.SqlBulkCopy.WriteToServer(IDataReader reader) at az.a(CancellableController , Int32 ,
Int32 , ConnectionProperties , GenerateAction , SqlConnection , SDGProject , GenerationReport )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi aharbath,

Are you populating this table from another Database/Table by any chance? It looks as though SQL Data Generator might be trying to put blank data into a column which doesn't allow blank data. If this is from an existing Database/Table can you check to see if it has any blank rows for that column?

Thanks,
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aharbath



Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not populating the data from another table. I am letting Data Generator do its' thing. The column IctHeaderId does not allow nulls and in the generator parameters for the IctHeaderId colmun the Allow Null Values checkbox is not checked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again,

Do you think it would be possible to provide us with a binary schema snapshot of the database so we can try to recreate here? You can use SQL Compare or the tool here to take your snapshot. If you could then e-mail it to support@red-gate.com with reference number F0028994 that would be great.
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aharbath



Joined: 23 Nov 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was eventually able to get the table populated with the number of records that I needed. It just took restarting the load a number of times. A little annoying but got me where I needed to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Matthew Flatt



Joined: 15 Jan 2008
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the update, if you want to send over the schema to help us try to track down the problem anyway that would be great.
_________________
Matthew Flatt
Test Engineer, HyperBac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group