Red Gate forums :: View topic - Smart Rename giving error "Failed to register database"
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Refactor 1
SQL Refactor 1 forum

Smart Rename giving error "Failed to register database"

Search in SQL Refactor 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
MKFerret



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: Smart Rename giving error "Failed to register database" Reply with quote

Perhaps I'm missing something simple, but the Smart Rename feature is giving me the error "Failed to register database" after I select a New name and click Next. Has anyone seen (or more importantly, fixed) this problem?

Best Regards,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MKFerret



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:32 pm    Post subject: Old fashioned "fix" Reply with quote

... I _suppose_ I should cancel the question ... shutting down SQL Management Studio (and Visual Studio) and restarting just SQL Management Studio works upon retrying. I don't know what got locked to prevent the creation of a script, but I'm back up and running now.

All the best,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Germo



Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also get this error, but I can't resolve it by restarting SSMS.
If I am connected to one server (I am sysadmin on this server) I have no problems, if I am connected to another server, I get the error: "Failed to register database". I am db_owner on the database, but only dbcreator and public on this server.

the second server:
Microsoft SQL Server Enterprise Edition (64-bit)
Version 10.0.2723.0

What rights I need on the server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are unable to have dbo or sysadmin privileges on the server, you should be able to read the necessary metadata to register the database if you:

GRANT VIEW DEFINITION TO [{username}]

I hope this helps.
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Germo



Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This does not solve the problem:
use [master]
GO
GRANT VIEW ANY DEFINITION TO [{username}]
GO

I am the db_owner on the database, so I think I have all rights I need on the database. But it seams I need some more rights on the server or in a system database for using Smart Rename. Which?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris Auckland



Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 757
Location: Red Gate Software Ltd.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry Germo, my mistake.

I just noticed you are using SQL 2008. You will also need:

GRANT VIEW SERVER STATE TO [{username}]

I've tested this myself this time, and it resolved the 'failed to register database' issue for me.
_________________
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Germo



Joined: 07 Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, this works!
Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group