Red Gate forums :: View topic - Cache management
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt Previous Versions
SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum

Cache management

Search in SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:39 pm    Post subject: Cache management Reply with quote

In version 3.9 we used to have a cache management (or something of that kind) where we could setup witch SQL instances to ignore and other cache related settings.

In version 4 I only see "Refresh Suggestions"

Where did it go? Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 941
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your post into the forum.

There is no longer cache management in SQL Prompt V4.

The SQL Prompt caching mechanism was modified or improved with the release of SQL Prompt V4, so the cache management settings in Version 3 no longer apply.

If you are writing a query on a database while someone else is making changes to the structure of that database, the suggestions offered by SQL Prompt may become out of date.

For example, if someone has added several tables to the database while you have been connected to that database, these tables will not appear in the suggestions box.

To reload the database objects, on the SQL Prompt 4 menu, select Refresh Suggestions or press Ctrl + Shift + D. Any changes to the database structure will now be reflected in the suggestions box.

You should also refresh suggestions when you have created a new object in the current query, and executed that block of code. For example, if you create a table NewObject and execute the statement, then continue to write the query, the NewObject table will not appear in the suggestions box until you refresh the suggestions.

Refreshing suggestions applies only to the database to which you are currently connected.
SQL Prompt automatically refreshes a database's objects when you close down your query editor application, then re-open it and re-connect to that database.

I hope the above answers your question.

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:50 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

My main question was how do I prevent SQL Prompt from accessing a SQL instance?


eddie davis wrote:
Thank you for your post into the forum.

There is no longer cache management in SQL Prompt V4.

The SQL Prompt caching mechanism was modified or improved with the release of SQL Prompt V4, so the cache management settings in Version 3 no longer apply.

If you are writing a query on a database while someone else is making changes to the structure of that database, the suggestions offered by SQL Prompt may become out of date.

For example, if someone has added several tables to the database while you have been connected to that database, these tables will not appear in the suggestions box.

To reload the database objects, on the SQL Prompt 4 menu, select Refresh Suggestions or press Ctrl + Shift + D. Any changes to the database structure will now be reflected in the suggestions box.

You should also refresh suggestions when you have created a new object in the current query, and executed that block of code. For example, if you create a table NewObject and execute the statement, then continue to write the query, the NewObject table will not appear in the suggestions box until you refresh the suggestions.

Refreshing suggestions applies only to the database to which you are currently connected.
SQL Prompt automatically refreshes a database's objects when you close down your query editor application, then re-open it and re-connect to that database.

I hope the above answers your question.

Many Thanks
Eddie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 941
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply.

The option to exclude SQL Prompt accessing SQL instances has been removed. Is this an option you would like to see returned to the product?

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ivanrdgz



Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Reply with quote

eddie davis wrote:
Thank you for your reply.

The option to exclude SQL Prompt accessing SQL instances has been removed. Is this an option you would like to see returned to the product?

Many Thanks
Eddie


Definitely. For example, we have a policy again using any third party tool directly on production environment. Lame or no, but it is a policy we have to obey.

I did notice the improvement on speed but still need more time to test this release before I put a fight to abolish that policy, at least with respect to SQL Prompt Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie davis



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 941
Location: Red Gate Software

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your reply.

I have submitted a feature request for the development team to consider, for SQL Prompt so users can add SQL instances that wish to ignore. The reference number for this request is SP-2802.

Hopefully the requested feature will appear (or return, depending on your point of view) in a future version of SQL Prompt.

Many Thanks
Eddie
_________________
Eddie Davis
Technical Support Engineer
Red Gate Software Ltd
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hbatrnek



Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 1:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would be excellent to add a functionality so that every structure of every object in database that SQL Prompt shows would be always up to date, otherwise we constantly need to refresh the cache so that we get the most up to date structure of an object, which we do constantly and if we forget to do it, it happens that older version of an object with new functionality overwrites the newer version. You should add a new setting for this functionality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group