Red Gate forums :: View topic - populating lookup tables
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Data Generator 1
SQL Data Generator 1 forum

populating lookup tables

Search in SQL Data Generator 1 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
noobix



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:39 pm    Post subject: populating lookup tables Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm not sure whether this is the right forum, I didn't know which one to post my question in.

My question is what is the best/recommended practice (using redgate tools) to populate lookup tables in a db?

Tino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noobix



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nobody can give me an answer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benhall



Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Sorry for the delay in replying.

SQL Data Generator is a tool which can generator test data for any sql server database, while your DB\lookup tables are in development I would strongly recommend using this tool.

http://www.red-gate.com/products/SQL_Data_Generator/index.htm

For production data, SQL Data Compare allows you to compare and sync the contents of two databases, so if your lookup data is ready in another DB you can easily transfer the data across.

http://www.red-gate.com/products/SQL_Data_Compare/index.htm

I hope this answers your question, if you need any more particular information please contact myself or the sales team and we will be happy to help.

Regards

Ben
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I product manage SQL Data Compare so I'd be curious for your feedback. Currently you can populate lookup tables in a 'target' database from a 'source' database that you also specify. We are considering allowing the 'source' to be a DML script file (INSERTs) or alternatively a csv or a bcp.exe-type file. Which of these methods would match best what you're looking for? Or is there another way you would like for this to work?

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
noobix



Joined: 01 Jul 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi David,

a DML script (or more) including many INSERTs is definitely the right solution for us. This is how we populate our DB now.

We'd like a similar feature as in DBGhost Data and Schema Scripter.
This tool can script both the static data and the schema in single SQL scripts.

SQLCompare can do the same but without scripting the static data.
That would be a nice-to-have feature.

Regards,
Tino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David Atkinson



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1108

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to let you know that SQL Data Compare 8 now supports writing out to DML .sql files, and conversely it is possible to synchronize from these DML files back to the database.

This now allows the storage of static data as well as schema in source control.

Regards,

David Atkinson
Product Manager
Red Gate Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group