Red Gate forums :: View topic - Deploying database from a web app
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Packager 6
SQL Packager 6 forum

Deploying database from a web app

Search in SQL Packager 6 forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Author Message
scootdawg



Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:47 pm    Post subject: Deploying database from a web app Reply with quote

Ok, so I'm trying to create an application that a sales person can go and fill out a form with some info and then it creates a database from that info.

Here's the code I use:
Code:

            Process myProcess = new Process();
            ProcessStartInfo myProcessStartInfo = new ProcessStartInfo();

            myProcessStartInfo.FileName = Server.MapPath("ImageDB.exe");
            myProcessStartInfo.WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Hidden;
            myProcessStartInfo.CreateNoWindow = true;
            myProcessStartInfo.UseShellExecute = false;
            myProcessStartInfo.RedirectStandardOutput = true;
            myProcessStartInfo.Arguments = "/server:dblocation /database:customerdb /username:user /password:password /quiet";
            myProcess.StartInfo = myProcessStartInfo;
            myProcess.Start();
            myProcess.WaitForExit();
            StreamReader myStreamReader = myProcess.StandardOutput;
            string myString = myStreamReader.ReadToEnd();
            Response.Write(myString);
            myProcess.Close();


when I run the code, I get the following error:

"Red Gate SQL Packager 'ImageDB' Error: File or assembly name ImageDB.exe, or one of its dependencies, was not found. "

I verified that the file is in the correct directory and that my process is pointing to that directory.

Does anyone know what's going on?

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6641

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can think of two possibilities right away. One happens if the package is created with compression. If that's true, then the package creates a copy of zlib1.dll in a temporary folder and references it dynamically to do the decompression. The other is the fact that if the packaged script gets larger than 100MB, a seperate satellite DLL is built for every 100MB of script, and the dlls have to be deployed in the same folder as the script.

Strapping fileMon to the ASP .NET worker process or using Fusion logging will probably tell you exactly which file it is trying to load.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scootdawg



Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:44 pm    Post subject: any other ideas? Reply with quote

Fusion logging doesn't show anything and I tried creating a non-compressed version and I still have the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6641

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it work if you recreate the package and do not use the "compression" option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scootdawg



Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:07 pm    Post subject: nope Reply with quote

I tried that and it still doesn'twork
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6641

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you absolutely sure that this is the latest version 6 of Packager that you are using? Version 5.x had this problem where you could not rename the assembly, which sometimes Windows like to do for you in the background when it wants to use a "temporary" file name. In that case, the assembly it can't find is the very one that is currently running, strangely enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scootdawg



Joined: 20 Aug 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:19 pm    Post subject: ah ha! Reply with quote

That's probably it. I have version 5. Sorry about that...

How do I get the latest version? I think my license is still up to date.

thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brian Donahue



Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 6641

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There should be a "check for updates" hanging off SQL Packager's Help menu. That's how you can get the latest version. Even if you do not have a current maintenance agreement you can still run the software side-by-side with the old version and see if it fixes the problem you've got.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group