Red Gate forums :: View topic - Line Return Indentation Issue
Return to www.red-gate.com RSS Feed Available

Search  | Usergroups |  Profile |  Messages |  Log in  Register 
Go to product documentation
SQL Prompt Previous Versions
SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum

Line Return Indentation Issue

Search in SQL Prompt Previous Versions forum
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Jump to:  
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
michaelfried



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:27 am    Post subject: Line Return Indentation Issue Reply with quote

As I am typing in a query, I have not figured out how to get the new line indentation to start at the level of indentation of the previous line in SQL Prompt 4.

For Example:

Code:

SELECT a.[Column1],
            a.[Column2],
a.[Column3]


Each new line starts all the way to the left, instead of indented at the level above (SQL Prompt 3.9 worked this way --> a.[Column3] would be indented the same as a.[Column2] automatically). What settings do I change in the format area to make it work properly?

Do I have to manually choose Format SQL after I am done typing in my query everytime? That seems like extra unnecessary work (especially since the previous version did not make you do that).

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmsullivan



Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm experiencing the same thing. It also occurs when writing conditional statements, such as:

IF @strName IS NULL
BEGIN
SET @strName = 'Bob' -- This would have been indented in SQL Prompt 3
END

This is quite annoying after not having to deal with indentation for so long, SQL Prompt 3 did a great job of handling this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anu Deshpande



Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Mike,

Thanks for your post Mike and apologies for the inconvenience.

I am tryng to replicate your issue but not able to.

Could you kindly send us your complete query on support@red-gate.com and I will create a call reference for you and we can carry from there?

Kindly let me know your view on this.
_________________
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com


Last edited by Anu Deshpande on Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Anu Deshpande



Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello bmsullivan

Thanks for your post.

Could you kindly send us the option setting which you did for SQL Prompt 3?

And also if you could let us know which way you want SQL Prompt 4 to format the above query given by you?

Above details will help us to replicate the issue and investigate further.
_________________
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
michaelfried



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sent an email to RedGate Support as requested.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anu Deshpande



Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your email.

I have replied to your email kindly let us know if that fixes the issue.
_________________
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
basw



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm having the same issue, would you mind sharing the trick?

Thanks!

Bas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anu Deshpande



Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Bas,

Many thanks for your post.

Could you kindly change following settings:
SQL Prompt 4 --> Options --> Format --> Data Statements --> unselect option <Indent subclauses>

Let us know if this fixes the issue.
_________________
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
basw



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your anwser.

It was already unchecked.
Tried to check/uncheck it, makes no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anu Deshpande



Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the update.

Could you kindly send us screenshots of your settings on support@red-gate.com ?
_________________
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Anu Deshpande



Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 685
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Bas,

If you could include the link to this forum in your email will be of great help.
_________________
Anuradha Deshpande
Product Support
Redgate Software Ltd.
E-mail: support@red-gate.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ashwinks



Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the very same issue. I find that now the "format" section under "Options" is greyed out because I am on the "standard" version. I dont remember having any limitations, especially in the options under SQL Prompt 3.0.

The indentation at various points was extremely intuitive in 3.0, and an enormous help and not having that in 4.0 is almost very disappointing. The speed in 4.0 is fantastic, so great job on that angle !

Could you please post a public note on how to get the indentation working ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michaelfried



Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried your suggstion and it made no difference. The option was already unchecked. I tried both ways (checked and unchecked) and it still does not indent properly.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tanya



Joined: 30 Apr 2007
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello all,

Guilty as charged Sad
In the process of redesigning the options dialog, we missed retaining the default indentation behaviour for SQL Prompt v4. This is a bug and we will fix it in our next release. Until then, I am afraid we do not have any workaround unless any of you can come up with an ingenious solution Wink
Sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused.

Thanks,
Tanya
Project Manager
Red Gate Software Ltd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
basw



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Tanya,

Good to know it will be fixed.

Nice enhancements for the rest! The speed is amazing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group